Constitution Alteration (Freedom of Expression and Freedom of the Press) 2019

30 June 2022

View the report as a single document - (PDF 230KB)

On 17 June 2021, the Senate referred the Constitution Alteration (Freedom of Expression and Freedom of the Press) 2019 (the bill) to the Legal and Constitutional Affairs Legislation Committee for inquiry and report by 31 December 2021.

On 22 November 2021, the committee's reporting date was extended to 31 March 2022. On 29 March 2022, the committee's reporting date was extended for a second time to 30 June 2022.

The committee received 30 submissions and did not conduct any hearings. The committee acknowledges the issues raised in submissions and thanks submitters for their contributions to the inquiry. The committee does not consider re-referral of the bill necessary in the 47th Parliament, in the event that it is re-introduced in the Senate.

Senator the Hon Sarah Henderson


Appendix 1
1 Australian Human Rights Commission
2 Alliance for Journalists' Freedom
3 NSW Council for Civil Liberties
4 The Australian National University Law Reform Social Justice Research Hub
5 Arts Law Centre of Australia
6 Dr Rebecca Ananian-Welsh
7 Christian Schools Australia
8 Prof. Patrick Parkinson
9 Dr Alex Deagon
10 Dr William Stoltz
11 Journalism Education and Research Association of Australia
12 Dr Russell Blackford
13 Mr Benjamin Cronshaw
14 Mr Jarrad Pavy
15 Prof George Williams
16 Maurice Blackburn
17 Rationalist Society of Australia
18 Human Rights Law Centre
19 Mr Paul Nolan
20 Electronic Frontiers Australia
21 Australian Press Council
22 Dr Bruce Baer Arnold
23 Mr John Pyke
24 Baragalia Aboriginal Elders Group
25 The Australia Institute
26 NSW Young Lawyers
27 Josephite Justice Network
28 Mr Rodney Crisp

  • Attachment 1

29 Mr Robert Heron
30 Australian Federal Police

Committee Secretariat contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3560