Public hearing - Canberra, Friday 16 September 2011

Public hearing - Canberra, Friday 16 September 2011

Committee Room 2S1, Parliament House
9.30am – 3.00pm

Native Title Amendment (Reform) Bill 2011

9.30am – 10.15am

National Native Title Council (Submission 14)
Mr Kevin Smith, Deputy Chair
Yamatji Marlpa Aboriginal Corporation (Submission 8)
Ms Carolyn Tan, In-house Legal Counsel

10.15am – 10.45am

Kimberley Land Council (Submission 2) (via teleconference)
Ms Justine Toohey, Policy Advisor

10.45am – 11.00am

Morning tea break

11.00am – 11.45am

National Native Title Tribunal (Submission 15)
Mr Graeme Neate, President

11.45am – 12.15pm

Professor Jon Altman (Submission 16)

12.15pm – 1.30pm

Lunch break

1.30pm – 2.15pm

Law Council of Australia (Submission 21)
Mr Anthony McAvoy, Barrister (via teleconference)
Mr Nick Parmeter, Director, Civil Justice Division (via teleconference)

2.15pm – 3.00pm

Attorney-General's Department (Submission 13)
Ms Kathleen Denley, Assistant Secretary, Native Title Branch
Ms Lavinia Gracik, Principal Legal Officer, Native Title Branch



Chair: Senator Trish Crossin; Deputy Chair: Senator Gary Humphries; Secretary: Julie Dennett

For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Legal and Constitutional Affairs
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3560
Fax: +61 2 6277 5794