Public hearing - Perth, Monday 13 July 2009

Public hearing - Perth, Monday 13 July 2009

Commonwealth Parliamentary Offices
Level 39 Conference Room
No 2, The Esplanade

Monday, 13 July 2009
8.30am – 4.00pm

Inquiry into Access to Justice

8.30am – 9.15am

Employment Law Centre of WA (Submission 26)
Ms Toni Emmanuel, Principal Solicitor
Ms Sara Kane, Manager

9.15am – 10.00am

Women's Legal Services Australia (Submission 56)
Ms Kate Davis, Principal Solicitor
Ms Victoria Hovane

10.00am – 10.15am

Morning tea break

10.15am – 10.45am

North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency (Submission 6)
(via teleconference)

10.45am – 11.30am

Aboriginal Legal Service of Western Australia Inc. (Submission 62)
Mr Denis Eggington, Chief Executive Officer

11.30am – 12.15pm

Southern Communities Advocacy Legal and Education Service (Submission 39)
Ms Anna Copeland, Acting Director

12.15pm – 1.00pm

Murdoch University, Faculty of Law, Restorative Justice Unit
(No Submission)
Dr Dorothy Goulding
Dr Brian Steels

1.00pm – 2.00pm

Lunch break

 Inquiry into Australia's Judicial System and the Role of Judges

2.00pm – 2.45pm

Supreme Court of WA (No Submission)
The Hon Justice Michael Murray, Acting Chief Justice

2.45pm – 3.30 pm

Law Society of WA
Mr John Staude, Member of the Law Society Council and Deputy Convenor of the Courts Committee;
Barrister, Francis Burt Chambers

Inquiry into Access to Justice

3.30pm – 4.00pm

Mallesons Stephen Jacques (No Submission) (to be confirmed)

4.00pm (approx)


Chair: Senator Guy Barnett; Deputy Chair: Senator Trish Crossin; Secretary: Peter Hallahan

For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Legal and Constitutional Affairs
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3560
Fax: +61 2 6277 5794