Public Hearing - Canberra, Friday 8 June 2012

Public Hearing - Canberra, Friday 8 June 2012

Committee Room 2S3
Parliament House

9.30 am - 1.00 pm

Australian Human Rights Commission Amendment
(National Children's Commissioner) Bill 2012

9.30am - 10.00am

Consortium of Non-Government Organisations (Submission 45)
Ms Susan Helyar, Director Services Development, UnitingCare Australia
Ms Stella Conroy, Acting Chief Executive Officer, Families Australia

10.00am - 10.30am

Australian Association of Social Workers (Submission 43)
Ms Helen Hopper, Company Secretary

10.30am - 10.45am


10.45am - 11.15am


Hotham Mission Asylum Seeker Project (Submission 40)
Ms Kimberlea Cooper, Caseworker
Asylum Seeker Resource Centre (Submission. 42)              
Ms Jana Favero, Community Engagement (via teleconference)

11.15am - 11.45am

Secretariat of National Aboriginal and Islander Child Care (Submission 20)
Ms Emma Sydenham, Policy and Research Manager (via teleconference)

11.45am - 12.15pm

Australian Human Rights Commission (Submission 36)
The Hon Catherine Branson QC, President (via teleconference)

12.15pm - 1.00pm

Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs (FaHCSIA) (no submission)
Ms Helen Bedford, Branch Manager, Children's Policy Branch
Attorney-General's Department (no submission)
Mr Matt Hall, Assistant Secretary, Human Rights Policy Branch
Ms Tracey Pearce, Acting Principal Legal Officer

Chair: Senator Trish Crossin; Deputy Chair: Senator Gary Humphries; Secretary: Julie Dennett

For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3560
Fax: +61 2 6277 5794