Public Hearing - Sydney, Thursday 3 May 2012

Public Hearing - Sydney, Thursday 3 May 2012

Macquarie Room, NSW Parliament House
Macquarie St

9.00am - 3.45pm

Marriage Equality Amendment Bill 2010


Australian Marriage Equality (Submission 260)
Mr Rodney Croome AM, Campaign Director
Mr Malcolm McPherson, Board Member
Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (Submission 3)
Ms Shelley Argent OAM, National Spokesperson
NSW Gay and Lesbian Rights Lobby (Submission 109)
Mr Senthorun Raj, Senior Policy Advisor
Mr Justin Koonin, Co-convenor


The Hon Kristina Keneally MP (Submission 98)
The Hon Michael Kirby AC CMG (Submission 74)




Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law (Submission 61)
Mr Andrew Lynch, Director
Ms Emily Burke, Intern
Law Council of Australia (Submission 178)
Ms Rosemary Budavari, Co-Director, Criminal Law & Human Rights
Ms Kate Eastman, Member, NSW Bar Association


Lawyers for the Preservation of the Definition of Marriage (Submission 262)
Mr Neville Rochow SC, Founder
Mr Christopher Brohier, Founder
Ambrose Centre for Religious Liberty (Submission 156)
Mr Rocco Mimmo, Founder and Chairman




Presbyterian Church of Australia (Submission 228)
Rev Stefan Slucki, Convenor, Presbyterian Church of Australia (via teleconference)
Assembly of Confessing Congregations within the Uniting Church in Australia (Submission 144)
Reverend Dr Max Champion, National Director
Mr Peter Bentley, Executive Consultant
Australian Catholic Bishops Conference (Submission 234)
Mr Chris Meney, Director, Life Marriage and Family Centre of the Catholic Archdiocese of Sydney
Miss Mary Joseph, Research and Project Officer, Life Marriage and Family Centre of the Catholic Archdiocese of Sydney
Organisation of Rabbis of Australasia (Submission 145)
Rabbi Moshe Gutnick, President


The Very Reverend Dr Peter Catt, Dean of St John's Cathedral (Submission 72) (via teleconference)
Metropolitan Community Church Sydney (Submission 242)
Reverend Greg Smith, Minister
Mr Alex Pittaway, Youth Leader
Imagine Surry Hills Baptist Church (Submission 249)
Pastor Michael Hercock
Pastor Nigel Chapman, Secretary
Paddington Uniting Church (Submission 204)
Reverend Ben Gilmour, Minister
Mr Justin Whelan, Mission Development Manager


Organisation Intersex International Australia (Submission 198)
Ms Gina Wilson, President
Defence Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Intersex Information Service (DEFGLIS) (Submission 238)
Mr Vince Chong, Chairman of the Board


Chair: Senator Trish Crossin; Deputy Chair: Senator Gary Humphries; Secretary: Julie Dennett

For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3560
Fax: +61 2 6277 5794