Public hearing - Canberra, 20 May 2005

Inquiry into the Privacy Act 1988

Public hearing - Canberra, 20 May 2005

Committee Room 2S3
Parliament House
Friday 20 May 2005
9.00am – 12.00pm


9:00am – 9:30am

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Submission 39)

Mr Rod Smith, First Assistant Secretary,
Public Diplomacy, Consular and Passports Division

Mr Bob Nash, Assistant Secretary, Passports Branch

Mr Adrian White, Manager, Passports Act Review Team, Passports Branch

Mr Paul Wojciechowski, Director,
Consular Policy and Crisis Management Section, Consular Branch

Ms Stacey Morgan, Executive Officer,
Administrative and Domestic Law Section, Legal Branch

9:30am – 10:00am

Centre for Law and Genetics (Submission 24) (by teleconference)

Professor Don Chalmers, Director

Dr Dianne Nicol, Senior Research Fellow

10:00am – 10:30am

Australian Medical Association (Submission 9)

Ms Pamela Burton, Legal Counsel

Ms Julie Nesbitt, Director, General Practice and E-health

10:30am – 11:00am

National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
(Submission 20)

Professor David Hill, Member, NHMRC Research Committee, and
Chair, NHMRC Working Committee on Privacy

Dr David Whiteman, Member, NHMRC Working Committee on Privacy

Professor Colin Thomson, NHMRC Consultant in Ethics

Mrs Cathy Clutton, Acting Executive Director,
Centre for Health Advice, Policy and Ethics

11.00am – 11:30am

Department of Health and Ageing (Submission 34)

Ms Mary Murnane, Deputy Secretary

Ms Margaret Lyons, First Assistant Secretary, Health Services Improvement Branch

Dr Brian Richards, National Director, e-Health Implementation Group

11:30am– 12:00pm

Australian Federal Police (Submission 42)

Mr Ben McDevitt, National Manager Counter-Terrorism

Federal Agent Simon Crowther, Senior Legislation Officer

For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Legal and Constitutional Affairs
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3560
Fax: +61 2 6277 5794