The integrity of the water market in the Murray-Darling Basin

29 November 2018

© Commonwealth of Australia 2018
ISBN 978-1-76010-878-6

View the report as a single document - (PDF 837KB)

View the report as separate downloadable parts:

Membership of the committee (PDF 21KB)
Abbreviations (PDF 16KB)
List of recommendations (PDF 10KB)
Chapter 1 - Introduction and background (PDF 185KB)

Conduct of the inquiry
Report Structure
Investigations and inquiries
Water compliance and enforcement
Differences between the southern and northern Basin
The impact of over-extraction
Irrigator responses to Four Corners allegations

Chapter 2 - Regulatory framework for the Murray‑Darling Basin and water metering and monitoring (PDF 143KB)

Roles and responsibilities
State governments
NSW Barwon‑Darling Water Sharing Plan
Sustainable diversion limit adjustment mechanism
Water metering and monitoring

Chapter 3 - Investigations into Basin-state water management (PDF 150KB)

Independent investigation into NSW water management and compliance – interim report
Independent investigation into NSW water management and compliance – final report
NSW Ombudsman – Investigations into water compliance and enforcement
ANAO – National Partnership Agreement on Implementing Water Reform in the Murray‑Darling Basin, NSW
Productivity Commission – five-year review of the Basin Plan
South Australian Murray‑Darling Basin Royal Commission
Other investigations

Chapter 4 - Compliance and the Murray-Darling Basin Authority (PDF 103KB)

Murray-Darling Water Compliance Review
MDBA compliance action since the WCR

Chapter 5 - Use and oversight of Commonwealth water (PDF 103KB)

Water for the Environment Special Account
Government water buybacks

Chapter 6 - Committee views and recommendations (PDF 76KB)

Management of the Murray‑Darling Basin
Murray-Darling Basin Authority
Water resource plans
Water for the Environment Special Account
Metering, monitoring and enforcement

Additional comments by Government Senators (PDF 13KB)
Additional comments by the Australian Greens (PDF 23KB)
Appendix 1 - Submissions received (PDF 23KB)
Appendix 2 - Public hearings and witnesses (PDF 19KB)

Committee Secretariat contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3511