Public hearing - Canberra, Monday 23 April 2012

Inquiry into the management of the Murray-Darling Basin

Public hearing - Canberra, Monday 23 April 2012

Committee Room 2S1
Parliament House

9.00 am - 5.30 pm



Sub No.

9.00 am

Murray Darling Basin Authority
The Hon Craig Knowles, Authority Chair
Dr Rhondda Dickson, Chief Executive
Mr Russell James, Acting Executive Director, Policy and Planning Division
Ms Jody Swirepik, Executive Director, Environmental Management Division


10.00 am

Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists
Mr Peter Cosier, Director
Dr John Williams, Member
Mr Tim Stubbs, Environmental Engineer


11.00 am

Morning tea break


11.15 am

National Farmers Federation
Mr Matt Linnegar, Chief Executive Officer, TBC
Ms Deb Kerr, Manager, Natural Resource Management



12.00 pm

Murray Lower Darling Rivers Indigenous Nations
Mr Grant Rigney, Chair


12.45 pm

Mr Richard Hazelton, Private Capacity


1.15 pm



2.00 pm

National Irrigators' Council
Mr Stewart Ellis, Chair
Mr Tom Chesson, Chief Executive Officer


2.45 pm

Dr Bill Young, Director, CSIRO Water for a Healthy Country Flagship
Dr Ian Prosser, Science Director, CSIRO Water for Healthy Country Flagship


3.45 pm

Afternoon tea break


4.00 pm

Snowy Hydro Limited
Mr Terry Charlton, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer
Mr David Harris, Executive Officer, Production, Water and Environment


4.45 pm

Professor Mike Young, Research Chair in Water Economics and Management, University of Adelaide
(via teleconference)


5.30 pm



For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3511
Fax: +61 2 6277 5811