Public hearing - Canberra, Tuesday 9 August 2011

Inquiry into the management of the Murray-Darling Basin

Public hearing - Canberra, Tuesday 9 August 2011

Committee Room 2S3
Parliament House

8.45 am - 4.30 pm



Sub No.

8.45 am

National Farmers' Federation
Mr Duncan Fraser, Vice President and Chair, Mining and Coal Seam Gas Taskforce
Ms Deborah Kerr, Manager, Natural Resource Management


9.30 am

Mr James Baulderstone, Vice President, Eastern Australia
Mr Mark Macfarlane, President, Santos, GLNG

No submission

10.15 am

Queensland Gas (QGC)
Ms Catherine Tanna, Executive Vice President, BG Group Australia, and Managing Director
Mr Jeff Jurinak, Vice President, Developments
Mr Tony Nunan, General Manager, Land and Community Management
Mr Rob Millhouse, General Manager, Government Affairs


11–11.10 am

Morning Tea Break

11.10 am

Mr Mike Mozara, Group General Manager, Upstream Gas
Ms Sarah McNamara, Head of Government & Community Engagement
Mr John Ross, Manager Hydrogeology


11.55 am

Arrow Energy
Mr Andrew Faulkner, Chief Executive Officer
Mr Michael Todd, Government Relations Manager
Ms Leisa Elder, VP Community & Corporate Affairs
Mr Tony Knight, VP Exploration
Mr Simon Gossmann, Groundwater Management Coordinator

No submission


Lunch Break

1.30 pm

Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities
Mr David Parker, Deputy Secretary, Water Group
Ms Kimberley Dripps, Deputy Secretary,  Environment Protection and Heritage Conservation
Mr Tony Slatyer, First Assistant Secretary, Water Reform, Water Group
Ms Mary Colreavy, First Assistant Secretary,  Environment Assessment and Compliance Division
Mr Peter Baker, Principal Science Advisor, Water Group


2.15 pm

Dr Glen Walker, Theme Leader, CSIRO Water for a Healthy Country Flagship
Dr Peter Stone, Deputy Chief, CSIRO Ecosystem Sciences
Dr Jim Underschultz, Theme Leader, CSIRO Petroleum and Geothermal Portfolio


3.00 pm

National Water Commission
Mr James Cameron, Acting Chief Executive Officer
Mr Matt Kendall, GM Sustainable Water Management


3.45 pm

Queensland Government - Department of Environment and Resource Management
Mr Michael Birchley, Assistant Director General, Regional Service Delivery
Mr Andrew Brier, General Manager – Coal & Coal Seam Gas Operations

No submission

4.30 pm

Adjournment of Hearing


For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3511
Fax: +61 2 6277 5811