Terms of Reference

Inquiry into Climate Change and the Australian Agricultural Sector

Terms of Reference

Download this document (PDF 19KB)

On 19 September 2007, the Senate referred the following matter to the Standing Committee on Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport for inquiry and report by 30 June 2008.

On 14 February 2008, the Committee resolved to recommend to the Senate that the Inquiry be re-adopted with terms of reference unchanged and with a reporting date of 4 September 2008.

  1. the scientific evidence available on the likely future climate of Australia's key agricultural production zones, and its implications for current farm enterprises and possible future industries;
  2. the need for a national strategy to assist Australian agricultural industries to adapt to climate change; and
  3. the adequacy of existing drought assistance and exceptional circumstances programs to cope with long-term climatic changes.

Written submissions are invited and should be addressed to:

The Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

The Committee prefers to receive submissions electronically as an attached document - email: rrat.sen@aph.gov.au

The closing date for receipt of submissions has been extended to 13 March 2008.

Submissions become Committee documents and are made public only after a decision by the Committee. Persons making submissions must not release them without the approval of the Committee. Submissions are covered by parliamentary privilege but the unauthorised release of them is not.

Following consideration of submissions, the Committee will hold public hearings. The Committee will consider all submissions and may invite individuals and organisations to give evidence at the public hearings.

Inquiries from hearing and speech impaired people should be directed to the Parliament House TTY number (02) 6277 7799. Adobe also provides tools for the blind and visually impaired to access PDF documents. These tools are available at: http://access.adobe.com/. If you require any special arrangements in order to enable you to participate in a committee inquiry, please contact the committee secretary.

For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3511
Fax: +61 2 6277 5811
Email: rrat.sen@aph.gov.au