Witnesses at Hearings

Report of the Senate Environment, Communications, Information Technology and the Arts References Committee
The Heat Is On: Australia's Greenhouse Future
Table of Contents

Appendix 2

Witnesses at Hearings

Canberra - Thursday, 9 March 2000

Australian Greenhouse Office

Department of Industry, Science and Resources

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Department of Environment and Heritage

Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry Australia

Department of Transport and Regional Services

Hadley Centre for Climate Prediction and Research,
The Met Office, United Kingdom
(Video link-up from Washington)

Greenpeace International (Video link-up from Berlin)

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, United Nations
(Video link-up from Nepal)

CRC for Southern Hemisphere Meterology, Monash University


Canberra – Friday, 10 March 2000

Australian Aluminium Council

The Australia Institute

Minerals Council of Australia

National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health,
Australian National University

The Wilderness Society

Climate Action Network Australia

Orica Pty Ltd

Pacific Bioweb

Mr Paul Hanley (private capacity)

Mr Laurie Virr (private capacity)


Melbourne – Monday, 20 March 2000

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation

Bureau of Meteorology

Australian Industry Greenhouse Network

Australasian Railway Association

Friends of the Earth (Fitzroy)

Environment Victoria


Melbourne - Tuesday, 21 March 2000

Business Council of Australia

Australian Conservation Foundation

City of Ballarat

International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives,
Australia/New Zealand

Australian Cogeneration Association

Sustainable Energy Industry Association (Australia) Ltd

Cooperative Research Centre for Clean Power from Lignite

Dr Michael George Gunter, Owner Operator, Breamlea Wind Generator


Sydney – Wednesday, 22 March 2000

The Cabinet Office of New South Wales

State Forests of New South Wales

Sustainable Energy Development Authority of New South Wales

Newcastle City Council

Energy Technology Investments

BP Amoco

Electricity Supply Association of Australia Ltd

Pacific Power

Pacific Solar Pty Ltd

Australian Consumers Association

Railway Technical Society of Australasia

University of New South Wales Tranport Program
New South Wales Environment Management Program


Sydney – Thursday, 23 March 2000

Australian Gas Association

Australian Liquefied Petroleum Gas Association

Elgas Ltd

School of Physics, University of Sydney

World Wide Fund For Nature

ACRE Policy Group

Australian CRC for Renewable Energy

Australian Gas Light Company


Perth - Monday, 17 April 2000

Ministry of Premier and Cabinet

Department of Resources Development

Department of Conservation and Land Management

Department of Environmental Protection

Chamber of Minerals and Energy of Western Australia Inc

Normandy Mining Ltd

Woodside Energy Ltd

School of Electrical Engineering and Telecommunications
University of New South Wales

Chevron Australia Pty Ltd

Westfarmers CSBP Ltd

Australian Co-operative Research Centre for Renewable Energy

Conservation Council of Western Australia

Western Australian Greenhouse Council


Perth - Tuesday, 18 April 2000

Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Western Australia

Epic Energy


Hobart – Friday, 5 May 2000

University of Tasmania Centre for Environmental Studies

Antarctic Co-operative Research Centre

Hydro-Electric Corporation

Mr Richard Calitz (private capacity)


Brisbane - Friday, 26 May 2000

Australia and New Zealand Solar Energy Society

Stanwell Corporation Ltd

Origin Energy Ltd

Professor Ian Lowe (private capacity)

Australian Institute of Marine Science

Centre for Maritime Studies, University of Queensland

Australian Coal Association

Queensland Conservation Council


Canberra – Thursday, 22 June 2000

Australian Greenhouse Office

Department Industry, Science and Resources

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Environment Australia

Department of Environment and Heritage

Department of Transport and Regional Services

Dr Albert Barrie Pittock, former leader CSIRO Division of Atmospheric Research Climate Impact Group (private capacity)

Potsdam Institute for Climate Impacts Research


Canberra - Friday, 23 June 2000


Great Southern Energy

Pulp and Paper Manufacturers Federation of Australia

Cement Industry Federation

Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association

Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics

National Competition Council


Canberra - Wednesday, 16 August 2000

Round Table Discussion

Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics

Australia Institute

Sustainable Solutions

Canberra - Wednesday, 6 September 2000

Co-operative Research Centre for Greenhouse Accounting

Australian Greenhouse Office