Submissions received by the Committee

Submissions may be re-ordered by clicking on a column header. They may also be grouped by Organisation/Individual, State/Territory.

1Professor George Williams AO (PDF 666 KB) 
2Australian Human Rights Commission (PDF 384 KB) 
3Department of Home Affairs (PDF 314 KB) 
3.1 Supplementary to submission 3 (PDF 343 KB) 
4Mr Benjamin Cronshaw (PDF 42 KB) 
5Prosecute; don't perpetrate (PDF 292 KB) 
6Professor Emerita Helen Irving (PDF 577 KB) 
7New South Wales Council for Civil Liberties (PDF 839 KB) 
8Peter McMullin Centre on Statelessness  (PDF 275 KB) 
9Senator David Pocock (PDF 412 KB) 
10Australian Federal Police (PDF 187 KB) 
11Law Council of Australia (PDF 668 KB) 
11.1 Supplementary to submission 11 (PDF 282 KB) 
12Associate Professor Rayner Thwaites (PDF 167 KB) 
13Professor Kim Rubenstein (PDF 234 KB) 

(Select multiple items for download by clicking the checkboxes)

Download Selected

About this inquiry

The Committee has commenced an inquiry into the operation, effectiveness and implications of Australian Citizenship Amendment (Citizenship Repudiation) Bill 2023 was introduced into Parliament on 29 November 2023, and was passed by both Houses on 6 December 2023. That bill, now in force as the Australian Citizenship Amendment (Citizenship Repudiation Act 2023, has repealed and replaced the operative provisions of Subdivision C of Division 3 of Part 2 of the Australian Citizenship Act 2007

Past Public Hearings

19 Feb 2024: Canberra


Inquiry Status

Submissions Closed


If you require any special arrangements to enable you to participate in the Committee's inquiry, please contact the Committee Secretariat.

Further information regarding accessibility can be found at