Public Hearing - Canberra, Wednesday 4 May 2011

Inquiry into the administration of health practitioner registration by the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA)

Public Hearing - Canberra, Wednesday 4 May 2011

Committee Room 2S1
Parliament House

8.30 am – 4.30 pm

Time Witness

8.30 am – 9.10 am

Forum of Australian Health Professions Councils (Sub 42)
Professor Richard Smallwood AO, Chair
Mr John Low, Member
Mr Ian Frank, Member
Ms Lyn LeBlanc, Member

9.10 am – 9.50 am

Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (Sub 41)
Ms Liesel Wett, Chief Executive Officer
Dr Kay Sorimachi, Director Policy and Regulatory Affairs

9.50 am – 10.30 am

Australian Doctors Fund (Sub 52)
Mr Stephen Milgate, Executive Director
Dr Stan Doumani, Director

10.30 am – 10.40 am


10.40 am  –11.15 am

Australian Nursing Federation (Sub 57)
Mrs Elizabeth Foley, Federal Professional Officer
Ms Julianne Bryce, Senior Federal Professional Officer

11.15 am – 11.50 am

Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (Sub 46) via teleconference
Prof Claire Jackson, President

11.50 am - 12.10 pm

Homebirth Australia (Sub 33)
Ms Sonja MacGregor, Committee Member
Ms Justine Caines, Committee Member
Ms Chloe Coulthard, Consumer

12.10 pm – 1.00 pm


1.00 pm – 1.40 pm

Australian Private Midwives Association and Midwives in Private Practice (Sub 21)
Ms Marie Heath
Ms Liz Wilkes
Ms Joy Johnston

1.40 pm – 2.20 pm

Ramsay Health Care Australia (Sub 35)
Ms Liz Spaull, National Workforce Planning & Development Manager
Mr Gavin O'Meara, Manager People and Culture

2.20 pm – 3.00 pm

Australian Medical Association (Sub 23)
Dr Steve Hambleton, Vice President
Mr Francis Sullivan, Secretary General

3.00 pm – 3.10 pm


3.10 pm – 3.50 pm

The Australian Psychological Society Ltd (Sub 36)
Professor Lyn Littlefield, Executive Director
Mr David Stokes, Senior Management Professional
Dr Jill Giese, Executive Officer
Australian Association of Psychologists Inc (Sub 60)
Mr Paul Stevenson, President
Mr Michael Pointer, Executive Director
Ms Wendy Northey, Director

3.50 pm – 4.30 pm

Australian Dental Association Inc (Sub 34)
Mr Robert Boyd-Boland, Chief Executive Officer
Mr Alex Chapman, Manager, Government and Public Affairs

For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Finance and Public Administration
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600