Currency (Restrictions on the Use of Cash) Bill 2019 [Provisions]

On 19 September 2019, the Senate referred the provisions of the Currency (Restrictions on the Use of Cash) Bill 2019 [Provisions] to the Economics Legislation Committee for inquiry and report by 7 February 2020.

The committee has been tasked by the Senate to inquire and report on provisions of the Currency (Restrictions on the Use of Cash) Bill 2019]. As such, this inquiry is not directed by terms of reference.  Further information about the bill can be found in the explanatory memorandum and the Minister's second reading speech.

Submissions closed on 15 November 2019. The committee is no longer accepting submissions.

A submission to a committee is a committee document and it is up to the committee to determine whether it is received as evidence and whether it is published. Once accepted by a committee, a document becomes the property of the committee and its decision is final.

A total of 2,659 submissions were received by the committee as of 3 December 2019. Due to the large number and recurring indirect themes presented through a number of email campaigns, the committee has resolved not to publish every item it received on its website. Instead, the committee will publish a selection which represents the recurring views expressed by submitters. 147 submissions have been published on the committee website below.

The committee has read and examined all submissions to the inquiry and while they are not all published, they will be referenced and discussed in the inquiry report as concerns regarding the bill alongside discussion regarding those submissions that directly addressed the provisions of the bill itself.

Reporting Date

Please note: On Thursday 6 Febuary 2020, the Senate resolved to amend the reporting date for the inquiry from 7 February 2020 to 28 February 2020.

Rules—Exposure draft

The exposure draft of the Currency (Restrictions on the Use of Cash) Rules 2019 is available on the Treasury website.

Committee Secretariat contact:

Senate Standing Committees on Economics
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3540