Public hearing - Melbourne, Monday 18 January 2010

Inquiry into competition and pricing in the Australian dairy industry

Public hearing - Melbourne, Monday 18 January 2010

10:30am – 6:30pm
Legislative Council Committee Room, Level 2
Parliament House, Spring Street, MELBOURNE

Time Witness

10:30am – 11:15am

Australian Dairy Farmers (submission 16) and
United Dairyfarmers of Victoria  (submission 18)
Mr Wesley Judd, President, Australian Dairy Farmers
Mr Chris Melham, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Dairy Farmers
Mr Chris Griffin, President, United Dairyfarmers of Victoria

11:15am – 12:00pm

Amalgamated Milk Vendors (submission 32)
Mr Colin Lawson, Industry Relations Manager

12:00pm – 12:45pm

The Australian Milk Producers Association (submission 21)
Mr Alex McKenzie, Representative
Mr Kevin Tesselaar

12:45pm – 1:45pm

Lunch break

1:45pm – 2:30pm

Department of Agriculture Fisheries and Forestry
Mr Allen Grant, Executive Manager Agricultural Productivity
Mr Simon Murnane, General Manager, Agricultural Productivity Commission
Mr Bruce Bowen, General Manager,  Agriculture Branch
Dr Terry Sheales, Deputy Executive Director, ABARE   

2:30pm – 3:00pm

Private Individuals
Ms Judy Clements
Mr Gordon Clements

3:00pm – 3:05pm

Afternoon tea break

3:05pm – 4:00pm

Fonterra (submission 10)
Mr Bruce Donnison, Managing Director – Ingredients
Mr David Mallinson, Chief Financial Officer

4:00pm – 5:15pm

Australian Competition and Consumer Commission
Mr Mark Pearson, Executive General Manager, Regulatory Affairs
Mr Tim Grimwade, Executive General Manager, Mergers & Acquisitions
Mr Scott Gregson, Group General Manager, Enforcement Operations
Mr Anthony Wing, General Manager, Transport & General Prices Oversight

5:15pm – 6:30pm

Lion Nathan National Foods (submission 11)
Mr Paul Evans, Director Government and Regulation
Mr Connor O'Malley, Group Executive, Corporate Services
Mr Murray Jeffrey, General Manager, Milk Procurement



For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Economics
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3540
Fax: +61 2 6277 5719