Public hearing - Canberra, Tuesday 18 May 2010

Inquiry into Suicide in Australia

Public hearing - Canberra, Tuesday 18 May 2010

Senate Committee Room 2S1
Parliament House

10.45 am - 5.00 pm

Time Witness

10.45 am - 11.45 am

Australian Bureau of Statistics (Sub 121)
Mr Garth Bode, First Assistant Statistician, Social Statistics Group,
Ms Anneke Schmider, Director, Social and Demographic Statistics Branch

11.45 pm - 12.45 pm

Australian Institute for Suicide Research and Prevention
(Sub 111)
Professor Diego De Leo, Director (Professor of Psychiatry)
Dr Kairi Kõlves, Acting Director (Senior Research Fellow)
Mrs Jacinta Hawgood, Senior Researcher and Course Lecturer

12.45 pm - 1.45 pm


1.45 pm - 3.45 pm

Department of Health and Ageing (Sub 202)
Ms Rosemary Huxtable, Deputy Secretary
Ms Georgie Harman, First Assistant Secretary, Mental Health and Chronic Disease Division
Ms Colleen Krestensen, Assistant Secretary, Mental Health and Suicide Prevention Programs Branch
Ms Tarja Saastamoinen, Assistant Secretary, Family Health and Wellbeing Branch, Office of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health
Dr Andrew Singer, Acting Chief Medical Officer
Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs (Sub 211)
Department of Veterans' Affairs
Mr Shane Carmody, Deputy President, Repatriation Commission
Mr Wayne Penniall, National Manager, Veterans' and Veterans Families' Counselling Service

3.45 pm - 4.00 pm


 4.00 pm - 4.30 pm

Professor Robert Goldney (Sub 51) (via teleconference)

 4.30 pm - 5.00 pm

Mr Michael Barnes, Queensland State Coroner (via teleconference)

For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Community Affairs References Committee
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3515
Fax: +61 2 6277 5829