Committee Membership

Committee Members

Participating Members

Senators Chris Back, Cory Bernardi, Catryna Bilyk, Carol Brown, Joe Bullock, David Bushby, Doug Cameron, Matthew Canavan, Jacinta Collins, Stephen Conroy, Sam Dastyari, Richard Di Natale, Sean Edwards, David Fawcett, Katy Gallagher, Bill Heffernan, Chris Ketter, Joanna Lindgren, Sue Lines, Scott Ludlam, Joseph Ludwig, Ian Macdonald, Gavin Marshall, Anne McEwen, James McGrath, Bridget McKenzie, Jan McLucas, Claire Moore, Deborah O'Neill, Barry O'Sullivan, Nova Peris, Helen Polley, Lee Rhiannon, Janet Rice, Anne Ruston, Zed Seselja, Rachel Siewert, Lisa Singh, Dean Smith, Glenn Sterle, Anne Urquhart, Larissa Waters, Peter Whish-Wilson, John Williams, Penny Wong, Penny Wright

About this committee

On 26 March 2015, the Senate resolved to establish the Select Committee on the Recent Allegations relating to Conditions and Circumstances at the Regional Processing Centre in Nauru to inquire into and report by  31 July 2015.

The committee was re-established on 10 August 2015 with a new reporting date of 31 August 2015.

The committee tabled its final report on 31 August 2015.

Parliamentary privilege

Giving evidence and providing information to the committee is voluntary. Parliamentary privilege applies only to people giving evidence in Australia. Parliamentary privilege is a special right that means that you cannot be prosecuted or disadvantaged because of anything you have provided in evidence that has been accepted by the committee, or because you gave this evidence.

However, because this privilege only applies within Australia, a person outside of Australia will not be protected by parliamentary privilege.

Terms of reference

The committee can only inquire into matters relevant to its terms of reference which are focused on the recent allegations relating to conditions and circumstances at the Regional Processing Centre in Nauru. The committee cannot investigate a person's individual circumstances outside of its terms of reference.


Any person requiring an interpreter should advise the secretariat, or call TIS National on 131 450. Say the language you need, and then ask to be put through to the secretariat by calling 02 6277 3583 or 1800 728 963.

Committee Secretariat contact:

Senior Clerk's Office
Department of the Senate
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Australia ACT 2600

Phone: 02 6277 3555
Fax: 02 6277 3899