House of Representatives Practice, 6th edition – HTML version

Appendix 1 - Governors-General

Right click over the text to activate a context menu for House of Representatives Practice and Procedures. (Note: on iPad Safari this function is activated by a finger press and holding down for several seconds.)

Term of office

Hope, Rt Hon. John Adrian Louis, 7th Earl of Hopetoun, KT, GCMG, GCVO, PC (afterwards 1st Marquis of Linlithgow)

1.1.1901 to 9.1.1903

Tennyson, Rt Hon. Hallam, 2nd Baron Tennyson, GCMG, PC

9.1.1903 to 21.1.1904

Northcote, Rt Hon. Henry Stafford, 1st Baron Northcote, GCMG, GCIE, CB, PC

21.1.1904 to 9.9.1908

Ward, Rt Hon. William Humble, 2nd Earl of Dudley, GCB, GCMG, GCVO, PC

9.9.1908 to 31.7.1911

Denman, Rt Hon. Thomas, 3rd Baron Denman, GCMG, KCVO, PC

31.7.1911 to 18.5.1914

Munro-Ferguson, Rt Hon. Sir Ronald Craufurd, GCMG, PC (afterwards 1st Viscount Novar)

18.5.1914 to 6.10.1920

Forster, Rt Hon. Henry William, 1st Baron Forster, GCMG, PC

6.10.1920 to 8.10.1925

Baird, Rt Hon. John Lawrence, 1st Baron Stonehaven, GCMG, PC, DSO (afterwards 1st Viscount Stonehaven)

8.10.1925 to 22.1.1931

Isaacs, Rt Hon. Sir Isaac Alfred, GCB, GCMG, KC

22.1.1931 to 23.1.1936

Hore-Ruthven, Brigadier General the Rt Hon. Alexander Gore Arkwright, 1st Baron Gowrie, VC, GCMG, CB, PC, DSO (afterwards 1st Earl of Gowrie)

23.1.1936 to 30.1.1945

Henry, Duke of Gloucester, HRH Prince William Frederick Albert, Earl of Ulster and Baron Culloden, KG, KT, KP, GCB, GCMG, GCVO, PC

30.1.1945 to 11.3.1947

McKell, Rt Hon. Sir William John, GCMG, QC

11.3.1947 to 8.5.1953

Slim, Field Marshal Sir William Joseph, KG, GCB, GCMG, GCVO, GBE, DSO, MC (afterwards 1st Viscount Slim)

8.5.1953 to 2.2.1960

Morrison, Rt Hon. William Shepherd, 1st Viscount Dunrossil, GCMG, PC, MC, QC

2.2.1960 to 3.2.1961

Sidney, Rt Hon. William Philip, 1st Viscount De L’Isle, VC, GCMG, GCVO, PC

3.8.1961 to 22.9.1965

Casey, Rt Hon. Richard Gardiner, Baron Casey, KG, GCMG, CH, PC, DSO, MC

22.9.1965 to 30.4.1969

Hasluck, Rt Hon. Sir Paul Meernaa Caedwalla, KG, GCMG, GCVO

30.4.1969 to 11.7.1974

Kerr, Rt Hon. Sir John Robert, AK, GCMG, GCVO, QC

11.7.1974 to 8.12.1977

Cowen, Rt Hon. Sir Zelman, AK, GCMG, GCVO, QC

8.12.1977 to 29.7.1982

Stephen, Rt Hon. Sir Ninian Martin, KG, AK, GCMG, GCVO, KBE

29.7.1982 to 16.2.1989

Hayden, Hon. William George, AC

16.2.1989 to 16.2.1996

Deane, Hon. Sir William Patrick, AC, KBE, QC

16.2.1996 to 29.6.2001

Hollingworth, Rt Reverend Dr Peter John, AC, OBE

29.6.2001 to 29.5.2003

Jeffery, Major General Philip Michael, AC, CVO, MC (Retd)

11.8.2003 to 5.9.2008

Bryce, Ms Quentin Alice Louise, AC

5.9.2008 –

Compiled in association with the Parliamentary Library and Government House.