House of Representatives Practice, 6th edition – HTML version

Chapter 1 - The Parliament and the role of the House

Right click over the text to activate a context menu for House of Representatives Practice and Procedures. (Note: on iPad Safari this function is activated by a finger press and holding down for several seconds.)


The Commonwealth Parliament is composed of three distinct elements, the Queen,[1] the Senate and the House of Representatives.[2] These three elements together characterise the nation as being a constitutional monarchy, a parliamentary democracy and a federation. The Constitution vests in the Parliament the legislative power of the Commonwealth. The legislature is bicameral, which is the term commonly used to indicate a Parliament of two Houses.

1. The Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act extends the provisions of the Constitution to the Queen’s (Queen Victoria’s) heirs and successors, s. 2.
2. Constitution, s. 1.