Appendix 2

Public Hearings

Monday, 12 April 2021
The Wilarra room, Level 1
The Grace Hotel
77 York Street
Transport Workers Union
Mr Michael Kaine, National Secretary
Mr Jack Boutros, Strategic Campaigner
Australian Services Union
Ms Natalie Lang, Branch Secretary, Australian Services Union
Ola Australia
Ms Ann Tan, Director and Head of Business Excellence and Legal
Mr Dominic Taylor, General Manager
Uber Eats
Mr Matthew Denman, General Manager
Mr Ed McManus, Chief Executive Officer
Ms Julia Duck, Head of Operations, Strategy and Performance
Mr Jordan O'Reilly, Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder
Ms Jessica Timmins, Senior Director of Service
Mr Peter Scutt, Chief Executive Officer
Professor Joellen Riley Munton, Professor of Law, University of Technology Sydney (Private capacity)
Dr Sandra Peter, Director of Sydney Business Insights, Business School, University of Sydney (Private capacity)
Mr Morten Belling, Managing Director
Mr Steven Teoh, Director of Delivery
Statements by delivery driver/rider workers
Mr Assad Manzoor, Private capacity
Mr Ashley Moorland, Private capacity
Mr Esteban Salazar, Private capacity

Tuesday, 13 April 2021
The Wilarra room, Level 1
The Grace Hotel
77 York Street
Shop, Distributive and Allied Employees’ Association
Mr Gerard Dwyer, National Secretary-Treasurer
Health Services Union
Mr Lloyd Williams, National Secretary
Australian Retailers Association
Mr Paul Zahra, Chief Executive Officer
Migrant Workers Centre
Mr Matt Kunkel, Director
Dr Hyeseon Jeong, Research and Policy Officer
National Tertiary Education Union (NTEU)
Dr Alison Barnes, National President
Dr Terri MacDonald, Director, Policy and Research
Casualised, Unemployed, and Precarious University Workers (CUPUW)
Dr Yaegan Doran, Member, CUPUW
Mx Morgan Jones, Member, CUPUW
Mx Dani Cotton, Member, University of Sydney Casuals Network
Ms Donna Tolhurst (Private capacity)

Wednesday, 14 April 2021
The Vue Room, The Nineteenth
Wollongong Golf Club
151-161 Corrimal Street
Shoalhaven City Council
Councillor Amanda Findley, Mayor
South Coast Labour Council
Mr Arthur Rorris, Secretary
Business Illawarra
Mr Evan Marginson, Policy Manager
Mr Adam Zarth, Executive Director
United Workers Union
Ms Jo Briskey, Official
Ms Tracy Cartan, Member
Mr Ken Brown, Member
Ms Kathy Dryden, Member
Statements by workers
Mr Rob Long, Tafe Organiser – New South Wales Teachers Federation
Mr Jim Scardanas, Private capacity
Mr Brad Cowie, Delegate – Public Service Association
Mr Mark Rogers, Member – National Tertiary Education Union
Statements by small business owners
Mr Gary McCarthy, Private capacity

Monday, 19 April 2021
The Ballroom
The Victorian Hotel
215 Little Collins Street
Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation
Ms Annie Butler, Federal Secretary
Ms Lori-Anne Sharp, Assistant Federal Secretary
Health Services Union (HSU)
Mr Raymond Collins, Industrial Organiser
United Workers Union – Aged Care
Ms Ffion Evans, Coordinator – Member Power
Ms Anu Singh, Member
Ms Tracy Colbert, Member
Per Capita
Ms Emma Dawson, Executive Director
Mr Matthew Lloyd-Cape, Research Economist
Distinguished Professor Sara Charlesworth, Work, Gender and Regulation, School of Management, and Director, Centre for people, Organisation and Work, College of Business – RMIT University(Private capacity)
Aged and Community Services Australia
Ms Patricia Sparrow, Chief Executive Officer
Mr Malcolm Larsen, Executive Director - Government and Public Affairs
Australian Health Services Research Institute
Professor Kathy M Eagar, Director
Professor Catherine Bennett, Chair in Epidemiology - Deakin University (Private capacity)
McKell Institute Victoria
Mr Ryan Batchelor, Executive Director

Tuesday, 20 April 2021
The Ballroom
The Victorian Hotel
215 Little Collins Street
Dr Michael Reich (Private capacity)
Mr Rodney Stiles, Former Assistant Commissioner at NYC Taxi and Limousine Commission/Freelance Mobility and Labour Consultant (Private capacity)
Victorian Council of Social Services
Ms Emma King, Chief Executive Officer
Ms Deborah Fewster, Manager - Advocacy
Ms Charlotte Newbold, Policy Advisor
Hospo Voice
Mr Tim Petterson, Organiser
Mr Darcy Moran, Member
Young Workers Centre
Ms Mairead Lesman, Acting Director
Ms Jorja Hickey
Brotherhood of St Laurence
Ms Emma Cull, Senior Manager Service Development and Strategy
Dr Joseph Borlagdan, Principal Research Fellow
Australian Unemployed Workers Union
Mr Peter Littlejohn, National Operations Co-Coordinator
Ms Kristin O’Connell, Communications Coordinator
Victorian Trades Hall Council (VTHC)
Dr Carina Garland, Assistant Secretary
Australia Institute, Centre for Future Work
Dr James Stanford, Economics and Director
Mr Dan Nahum, Economist
United Workers Union
Mr Ben Redford, Director
Australian Services Union
Ms Lisa Darmanin, Branch Secretary - Victorian and Tasmanian Branch
Mr Leon Wiegard, Assistant Branch Secretary - Victorian and Tasmanian Branch
Mr Andy Sinclair, Member - Victorian and Tasmanian Branch
Maurice Blackburn Lawyers
Mr Kamal Farouque, Principal Lawyer
Australian Higher Education Industrial Association
Mr Stuart Andrews, Executive Director

Wednesday, 21 April 2021
The Ballroom
The Victorian Hotel
215 Little Collins Street
Fair Work Ombudsman
Mr Jeremy O’Sullivan, Chief Counsel
Mr Steven Ronson, Executive Director – Enforcement
Aged Care Industry Association
Mr Luke Westenberg, Chief Executive Officer
Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry
Mr Scott Barklamb, Director - Workplace Relations
Ms Tamsin Lawrence, Deputy Director - Workplace Relations
Australian Industry Group
Mr Stephen Smith, Head of National Workplace Relations Policy
Ms Julie Toth, Chief Economist

Thursday, 10 June 2021
Committee room 2S3
Parliament House
Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union
Mr Lawrence Ben, Political Coordinator
Professor Paula McDonald, Professor of Work and Organisation – Queensland University of Technology Business School (Private capacity)
Amazon Commercial Services Pty Ltd (Amazon Australia)
Mr Michael Cooley, Director - Public Policy Australia and New Zealand
Mr Ryan Smith, Manager - Public Policy
Transport Workers' Union of Australia
Mr Micheal Kaine, National Secretary
International Transport Federation
Mr Scott McDine, Head - Sydney ITF Office
Shop, Distributive and Allied Employees Association
Mr Bernie Smith, Branch Secretary-Treasurer
Safe Work Australia
Ms Rebecca Newton, Branch Manager - Chemicals, Occupational Hygiene Policy and High Risk Work Policy
Ms Meredith Bryant, Branch Manager
Ms Sarah Costelloe, Branch Manager

 |  Contents  |