Constitutional roundtable on fixed four-year parliamentary terms

The Committee will hold a public Constitutional Roundtable on the morning of Thursday, 7 November 2019, to discuss fixed four-year terms for the House of Representatives.

The Committee will discuss this topic with a panel of Constitutional law experts, comprising:

  • Professor Gabrielle Appleby;
  • Laureate Professor Emeritus Cheryl Saunders AO;
  • Mr Malcolm Mackerras AO;
  • Professor Anne Twomey;  and
  • Professor George Williams AO.

The discussions will be broadcast live, and an opportunity will be provided the the public to propose questions for the Committee to raise with the expert panel.  Members of the public are also free to attend the roundtable, at Parliament House in Canberra.

Your can provide your questions by making a submission, or via Twitter during the roundtable.

Public hearing details

Time: 9am - 12:15pm
Date:  7 November 2019
Venue:  Committee Room 2R1, Parliament House, Canberra


Interested individuals and organisations may make submissions, including questions or general comments until Monday, 14 October 2019.

Questions via Twitter

During the hearing on 7 November, you may tweet your questions to the House of Representatives Twitter account, @AbouttheHouse.  Questions will be passed to the members of the Committee, and, time permitting, may be asked of the expert panel.

Committee Secretariat contact:

Committee Secretary
House of Representatives Standing Committee on Social Policy and Legal Affairs
PO Box 6021
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 2358