Industry structures and systems governing levies on grass-fed cattle

9 September 2014

© Commonwealth of Australia 2014
ISBN 978-1-76010-086-5

View the report as a single document - (PDF 978KB)

View the report as separate downloadable parts:

Membership of the committee (PDF 21KB)
Abbreviations (PDF 9KB)
Foreword (PDF 15KB)
List of recommendations (PDF 28KB)
Chapter 1 - Introduction and background (PDF 47KB)

Referral of inquiry
Conduct of inquiry
Australian red meat industry

Chapter 2 - The basis on which levies are collected and used (PDF 316KB)

Red meat and livestock industry structure
Custodian of MOU—Red Meat Advisory Council
Peak industry councils
Service providers
Cattle transaction levy
Management and investment of marketing and R&D levy components
MLA funding and revenue

Chapter 3 (PDF 109KB)

Context of the inquiry
Intent of the 1997–98 reforms
Changes effecting the industry since the 1997–98 reforms
Concerns with the current structure and levy system

Chapter 4 (PDF 148KB)

Grass-fed cattle producer contribution to the CTL
MLA membership
MLA voting structure
MLA board and selection committee
Meeting producer and processor needs
Dominance of beef processors

Chapter 5 (PDF 109KB)

Cattle Council of Australia
Relationship between MLA and CCA
Adequacy of CCA funding
State farming organisations
Red Meat Advisory Council
Addressing the flaws within the current structure

Chapter 6 (PDF 83KB)

MLA Donor Company
Allocation of the cattle transaction levy components
Transparency in pricing and trade practices

Chapter 7 (PDF 73KB)

A producer-owned body
Automated and transparent levy collection and voter entitlement system
Imposition of the cattle transaction levy
Full and independent audit of the cattle transaction levy
Red Meat Advisory Council
MLA Donor Company
Transparency in pricing and trade practices

Dissenting Report – Senator the Hon Ian Macdonald (PDF 26KB)
Additional Comments – Australian Greens (PDF 10KB)
Appendix 1 - Submissions received (PDF 31KB)
Appendix 2 - Public hearings and witnesses (PDF 24KB)

Committee Secretariat contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3511