Appendix 2

Public hearings and witnesses

Tuesday, 1 October 2019
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
111 Little Collins Street
Deakin University
Mr Grant Sutherland, Chief Executive Officer, South West Victoria
ClimateWorks Australia
Ms Anna Malos, Policy Manager
Regional Australia Institute
Ms Liz Ritchie, Co-CEO
Monash Sustainable Development Institute
Dr Michael Askew, Program Manager, Australian Transitions Academy
Dr Dirk Visser, Program Manager, Executive Education
Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union
Mr Glenn Thompson, Assistant National Secretary
Mr Adam Wieladek, National Research and Planning Officer
Clean Energy Council
Mr Kane Thornton, Chief Executive Officer
Ms Anna Freeman, Director, Energy Generation
Per Capita
Ms Emma Dawson, Executive Director
Mr Shirley Jackson, Research Economist
Thursday, 10 October 2019
Quest Townsville on Eyre
19-21 Leichhardt Street
Regional Development Australia - Townsville and North West QLD
Ms Glenys Schuntner, Chief Executive Officer
Townsville City Council
Cr Jenny Hill, Mayor
Mr Brett Brogan, General Manager Future Cities
Ecosure Pty Ltd
Ms Diane Lanyon, General Manager
Mr Michael O'Grady, Regional Project Coordinator
Hinchinbrook Shire Council
Mayor Ramon Jayo, Mayor
Regen Australia
Ms Rachel Lamaro, Operation Manager
Wet Tropics Management Authority
Mr Scott Buchanan, Executive Director
Rural Economies Centre of Excellence
Associate Professor Ben Lyons, Director
Professor Hurriyet Babacan, Professorial Research Fellow, The Cairns Institute
Friday, 11 October 2019
Flinders Room
Rydges Mackay Suites
9 Gregory Street
Greater Whitsunday Alliance and Regional Development Australia Mackay-Isaac-Whitsunday QLD
Ms Sherry Smith, Project and Innovation Coordinator
Mr Darryl Camilleri, Acting Chair
Resource Industry Network
Ms Adrienne Rourke, General Manager
The Rural Jobs and Skills Alliance (RJSA)
Ms Diana Saunders, Project Manager, Rural Jobs and Skills Alliance
Mr Paul Sloman, Cotton Australia
Mrs Karen George, Rural Jobs and Skills Alliance, Growcom
Mr Andres Jaramillo, Irrigation Australia Limited
Dr Mark McGovern, Private capacity
University of Queensland Centre for Policy Futures
Professor Karen Hussey, Director
Mackay Regional Council
Cr Greg Williamson, Mayor
Tourism Whitsundays
Mr Allen Grundy, Chairman
Wednesday, 30 October 2019
Whyalla Council Chambers
15 Darling Terrace
GFG Alliance
Mr Michiel Freislich
Mr Mark Scholem
Ms Bianca Standing
Beyond Zero Emissions
Mr Eytan Lenko, Chair
Ms Vanessa Petrie, Chief Executive Officer
Whyalla City Council
Ms Samantha Bowman, Director City Development
Mr Chris Cowley, Chief Executive Officer
Upper Spencer Gulf Common Purpose Group
Ms Anita Crisp, Executive Officer
Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union
Mr Steven McMillan, Northern Regional Organiser
Friday, 1 November 2019
Collie Ridge Motel
185-195 Throssell Street
Collie Chamber of Commerce
Ms Julie Hillier, Vice President
South West Development Commission
Ms Melissa Teede, Chief Executive Officer
Regional Development Australia South West
Mr Charles Jenkinson, Director
Shire of Collie
Cr Sarah Stanley, Mayor
City of Mandurah
Cr Rhys Williams, Mayor
Mr Mark Newman, Chief Executive Officer
City of Bunbury
Cr Gary Brennan, Mayor
Shire of Dardanup
Mr Andre Schonfeldt, Chief Executive Officer
Cr Michael Bennett, Shire President
Professor Ray Wills, Private capacity
Professor Greg Morrison, Private capacity
Dr Martin Anda, Private capacity
Future of Work Institute
Dr Marylene Gagne
Sun Brilliance
Dr Dilawar Singh, Founder
Mr Sean Emmett, Union Delegate
AMWU - WA Branch
Mr Steve McCartney, State Secretary
Tuesday, 5 November 2019
Rydges Newcastle
Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Road
Hunter Business Chamber
Mr Bob Hawes, Chief Executive Officer
AI Group Hunter Region NSW
Mr Adrian Price, Regional Manager – Hunter, Central Coast and Northern Sydney
Port of Newcastle
Mr Craig Carmody, CEO
Mr Simon Byrnes, Chief Commercial Officer
Mr Darryn Costanzo, Development Manager
University of Newcastle
Professor Alex Zelinsky AO, Vice-Chancellor and President
Professor Rohan Walker, Assistant Dean, Innovation and Partnerships
Professor Will Rifkin, Chair in Applied Regional Economic, Hunter Research Foundation Centre
Dr Anthea Bill, Lead Economist, Hunter Research Foundation Centre
Ms Siobhan Curran, Senior Manager, Integrated Innovation Network (I2N) Operations and Innovation
City of Newcastle
Mr Simon Massey, Economic Development Facilitator
Dr Nathaniel Bavington, Smart City Coordinator
Ms Ashlee Abbott, Manager, Corporate and Community Planning
Singleton Council
Councillor Sue Moore, Mayor
Ms Sharon Hutch, Director – Organisation and Community Capacity
Cessnock City Council
Councillor Bob Pynsent, Mayor
Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union - NSW Branch
Mr Steve Murphy, State Secretary
Mr Cory Wright, State Organiser
Mr Gerard Spinks, Union Delegate, Bayswater Power Station
Mr Phillip Walters, Union Delegate, UGL Broadwater
Hunter Joint Organisation
Mr Joe James, Chief Executive Officer
Mayor Robert Pynsent, Chair
Lock the Gate Alliance
Ms Georgina Woods, NSW Coordinator
Wednesday, 6 November 2019
State Library of NSW
Bioenergy Australia
Ms Shahana McKenzie, Chief Executive Officer
Nature Conservation Council of NSW
Mr Chris Gambian, CEO
Ms Jacqui Mumford, Lead Organiser
Community and Public Sector Union
Mr Michael Tull, Assistant National Secretary
Mr Osmond Chiu, Senior Policy and Research Officer
University of Technology Sydney
Professor Peter Ralph, Executive Director, Climate Change Cluster
Dr Chris Briggs, Research Principal, Institute for Sustainable Futures
Prof David Lindenmayer, Private capacity
National Waste Recycling Industry Council
Ms Rose Read, CEO
Mr Alex Serpo, Secretary
The Next Economy
Dr Amanda Cahill, CEO
Institute for Energy Economics and Financial Analysis
Tim Buckley, Director, Energy Finance Studies

 |  Contents  |