Appendix 1

Appendix 1

Witnesses from mental health hearings

The committee held three hearings focusing specifically on mental health on 26 and 28 August and 18 September 2015. However, mental health organisations have participated in the committee's other hearings

Wednesday, 26 August 2015 – Canberra

National Mental Health Commission

Mr David Butt, Chief Executive Officer and Commissioner

Ms Jacqueline Crowe, Commissioner

Professor Allan Fels, Chair

Ms Sally Goodspeed, Executive Director

Professor Ian Hickie, Commissioner

Roundtable One – mental health groups and service providers

Mr Ivan Frkovic, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, National Operations, Aftercare

Professor Malcolm Hopwood, President, Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists

Mr David Meldrum, Executive Director, Mental Illness Fellowship of Australia

Mr Andrew Peters, Chief Executive Officer, Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists

Mr Frank Quinlan, Chief Executive Officer, Mental Health Australia

Mr Sebastian Rosenberg, Senior Lecturer, Brain and Mind Centre, University of Sydney

Ms Pamela Rutledge, Chief Executive Officer, RichmondPRA

Roundtable Two – mental health groups and service providers

Ms Tracy Adams, Chief Executive Officer, BoysTown

Mr Peter Bewert, Executive Manager Care Services, Salvation Army Aged Care Plus

Mr John Dalgleish, Manager, Strategy and Research, BoysTown

Mrs Narelle Hand, Program Manager, Anglicare

Mr Jack Heath, Chief Executive Officer, SANE Australia

Mr Christopher John, Chief Executive Officer, United Synergies

Ms Susan King, Director, Advocacy and Research, Anglicare Sydney

Professor Mike Kyrios, President, Australian Psychological Society

Professor Lyn Littlefield, Executive Director, Australian Psychological Society

Mrs Karen Phillips, Manager, National Standby Response Service, United Synergies

Associate Professor Judith Proudfoot, Head of eHealth, Black Dog Institute

Mrs Nicola Rosenthal, Business Development Manager, Salvation Army Aged Care Plus

Roundtable Three – federal government departments

Department of Health

Ms Janet Anderson, First Assistant Secretary, Health Services Division

Mr Mark Cormack, Deputy Secretary, Strategic Policy and Innovation

Ms Colleen Krestensen, Assistant Secretary, Mental Health Policy Branch

Ms Fiona Nicholls, Assistant Secretary, Mental Health Services Branch

Department of Social Services

Dr Russell Ayres, Branch Manager, Mental Health

Mr James Christian, Group Manager, Disability, Employment and Carers

Dr Nick Hartland, Group Manager, National Disability Insurance Scheme

Mr Eddie Bartnik, Strategic Adviser, National Disability Insurance Agency


Friday, 28 August 2015 – Sydney

Roundtable One – mental health consumers and carers

Ms Lyn Anderson, private capacity

Mrs Pauline Ferkula, private capacity

Mr Sunny Hemraj, private capacity

Miss Rachael Laidler, private capacity

Ms Kerin O'Halloran, private capacity

Mr David Peters, private capacity

Mr Robert Wellman, private capacity

Roundtable Two – mental health groups and service providers

Ms Victoria Blake, Research Coordinator, ReachOut Australia

Mr Malcolm East, Deputy Principal, St Philips Christian College, Gosford

Ms Christine Morgan, Chief Executive Officer, Butterfly Foundation

Ms Sue Murray, Chief Executive, Suicide Prevention Australia

Ms Ka Ki Ng, Senior Policy Officer, Mental Health and Wellbeing Consumer Advisory Group

Ms Hayley Purdon, Deputy Chair, Lived Experience Network Leadership Group, Suicide Prevention

Ms Deepika Ratnaike, Director of Research and Policy, ReachOut Australia

Mr Matthew Tukaki, Board Member, Suicide Prevention Australia; Chairman, National Coalition for Suicide Prevention

Mr Alan Woodward, Executive Director, Lifeline Research Foundation, Lifeline Australia

Roundtable Three – mental health groups and service providers

Mr Jonathan Harms, CEO, Mental Health Carers Arafmi NSW Inc.

Ms Jane Henty, Executive Officer, Mental Health Carers Arafmi Australia

Mr Brendan Maher, General Manager, R U OK?

Dr Gerard Naughtin, Chief Executive, Mind Australia

Ms Rebecca Reynolds, Executive Director, National LGBTI Health Alliance

Ms Jaelea Skehan, Director, Hunter Institute of Mental Health

Rural Health Research, Centre for Rural and Remote Mental Health

Professor David Perkins, Director and Professor

Private capacity

Professor Philip Mitchell


Friday, 18 September 2015 – Brisbane

Brisbane North Primary Health Network

Mr Jeffery Cheverton, Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Ms Pauline Coffey, Executive Manager, Commissioned Services

Ms Nicola Bristed, Private capacity; and Consumer Evaluator, Partners in Recovery Program

Primary Health Care Advisory Group

Dr Steven Hambleton, Chairman

Queensland Mental Health Commission

Dr Lesley van Schoubroeck, Queensland Mental Health Commissioner

Mental Health Commission of New South Wales

Mr John Feneley, Commissioner

Roundtable One – mental health consumers and carers

Mr Gregory Cutts, private capacity

Mrs Lesley McDonald, Carer, Consumer and Carer Engagement Group

Ms Nicole Sutherland, Consumer Engagement Committee, Metropolitan North

Roundtable Two – mental health groups and service providers

Dr Michelle Blanchard, Head, Projects and Partnerships, Young and Well Cooperative Research Centre

Ms Marj Bloor, Mental Health Carers Arafmi Queensland Inc.

Dr Greta Galloway, Independent Researcher; Consultant, Alan Webster Consultancy/Centacare

Mr Gary Hubble, Manager Far North Queensland Partners In Recovery, Centacare Cairns

Mr Majid Khan, Senior Project Officer, Mental Health in Multicultural Australia

Ms Monica O'Neill, Director, Metro North Mental Health

Ms Sharon Orapeleng, Senior Project Officer, Mental Health in Multicultural Australia

Mr Hamza Vayani, National Project Manager, Mental Health in Multicultural Australia

Ms Jody Wright, Executive Officer, Mental Health Association Queensland

Navigation: Previous Page | Contents | Next Page