Inquiry into the Australian Telecommunications Network

Inquiry into the Australian Telecommunications Network

The Senate has referred the above matter to the Committee for inquiry and report on the 16 June 2004.
The terms of reference are:

(a) the capacity of the Australian telecommunications network, including the public switched telephone network, to deliver adequate services to all Australians, particularly in rural and regional areas;

(b) the capacity of the Australian telecommunications network, including the public switched telephone network, to provide all Australians with reasonable, comparable and equitable access to broadband services;

(c) current investment patterns and future investment requirements to achieve adequacy of services in the Australian telecommunications network;

(d) regulatory or other measures which might be required to bring the Australian telecommunications network up to an adequate level to ensure that all Australians may obtain access to adequate telecommunications services; and

(e) any other matters, including international comparisons, which are deemed relevant to these issues by the Committee.

The Committee invites written submissions from interested individuals and organisations to be lodged by Friday 16 August 2002. The Committee prefers submissions to be lodged in electronic form, sent by email to The email must include full postal address and contact details. Alternatively, submissions may be sent to the Secretary, Senate ECITA References Committee, Parliament House, Canberra ACT 2600.

Advice on preparing a submission is available on the Committee's web site or by contacting the Secretariat as follows: phone (02) 6277 3526; fax (02) 6277 5818. The web site address is

Submissions become Committee documents and are made public only after a decision by the Committee. Persons making submissions must not release them without the approval of the Committee. Submissions are covered by parliamentary privilege but the unauthorised release of them is not.



11 October 2002 Wollongong (PDF 337KB)
26 November 2002 Melbourne (PDF 423KB)
27 November 2002 Canberra (PDF 475KB)
28 November 2002 Sydney (PDF 525KB)
6 December 2002 Canberra (PDF 536KB)
28 March 2003 Canberra (PDF 285KB)
22 April 2003 Ballarat (PDF 125KB)
23 April 2003 Mildura (PDF 290KB)
24 April 2003 Launceston (PDF 352KB)
28 April 2003 Cairns (PDF 459KB)
29 April 2003 Rockhampton (PDF 218KB)
30 April 2003 Caboolture (PDF 278KB)
8 May 2003 Adelaide (PDF 369KB)
9 May 2003 Bunbury (PDF 531KB)
14 May 2003 Canberra (PDF 220KB)
19 May 2003 Sydney (PDF 487KB)
20 May 2003 Newcastle (PDF 239KB)
6 August 2003 Melbourne (PDF 317KB)
7 August 2003 Melbourne (PDF 692KB)

Media Releases

Tuesday 26 November 2002 (Word format)
Wednesday 27 November 2002 (Word format)
Thursday 28 November 2002 (Word format)

Report- (Tabled 5 August 2004)

Committee Secretariat contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Environment and Communications
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3526