Public hearing - Canberra, Friday 18 September 2009

Inquiry into the Welfare of International Students

Public hearing - Canberra, Friday 18 September 2009

Venue Committee Room 2S3
Parliament House, Canberra


ACTU Sub. 43
Ms Michelle Bissett, Senior Industrial Officer

9.45–10.30 am

Mr Andrew Bartlett (ANU) Sub. 61
Research Fellow, Migration Law Program


Morning tea


Universities Australia Sub. 70
Dr Glenn Withers, Chief Executive Officer
Ms Ainslie Moore, Assistant Director Policy


NTEU Sub. 56
Mr Paul Kniest, Policy and Research Coordinator

12.15-12.45 pm

International Education Services Ltd Sub.42
Mr Chris Evason, Managing Director
Ms Sonia Caton, Board Member




NSW Department of Education & Training
Mr David Riordan, Chief Executive Officer, DET International & TAFE NSW National Business
Ms Dianne Murray, Director, TAFE NSW Illawarra Institute Sub.107


DEEWR Sub. 112

DIAC Sub. 111

DFAT Sub. 114



Departmental Witnesses

Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations

Mr Steve Nerlich, Director- Research, Analysis and Europe Section
Ms Meredith Bryant, Director- Workplace Relations Policy Group
Ms Linda Laker, Branch Manager- International Student Taskforce
Ms Di Weddell, Manager, International Strategy Branch
Mr Bill Burmester, Deputy Secretary- Tertiary, Youth and International
Mr Colin Walters, Group Manager, International Group
Ms Tulip Chaudhury, Branch Manager, International Quality Branch

Department of Immigration and Citizenship

Mr Peter Vardos, First Assistant Secretary, Migration and Visa Policy
Mr Peter Speldewinde, Assistant Secretary, Labour Market Branch
Ms Christine McPaul, Assistant Secretary, Education and Tourism Branch
Mr Peter Richards, Assistant Secretary Student Visa Integrity

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Martin Walker, Director- Advocacy Strategies, Internet and Publications, Images of Australia Branch
Ms Karen Lanyon, Assistant Secretary- Images of Australia Branch
Ms Deborah Stokes, First Assistant Secretary- South and West Asia, Middle East and Africa Division

For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committee on Education, Employment & Workplace Relations
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3521
Fax: +61 2 6277 5706