Appropriations and Staffing (Standing)

Appropriations and Staffing (Standing)

1 July 2010 to 27 September 2010


Pursuant to Senate Standing Order 19.


The President (Senator the Hon J Hogg) (Chair), the Leader of the Government in the Senate (Senator the Hon C Evans), the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate (Senator the Hon E Abetz), and Senators Faulkner, Lundy, Parry, Sherry, Williams and Xenophon

Former Members

Senator the Hon A Ferguson (Chair–to 26.08.08)

Senator the Hon N Minchin

Senator Murray

Senator Nash




Ms Bronwyn Notzon

(02) 6277 3015

(02) 6277 3448

Role of the committee

The Standing Committee on Appropriations and Staffing determines the amounts for inclusion in the parliamentary appropriation bills and reports to the Senate on its determinations prior to the Senate’s consideration of those bills. The committee also examines matters affecting the staffing and administration of the Department of the Senate, including proposals to vary the staffing structure, and other matters referred to it by the Senate. It makes an annual report to the Senate on the operations of the Senate’s appropriations and staffing and related matters (Standing Order 19(3)). The committee has the explicit capacity to scrutinise security funding and administration and to advise the President and the Senate as appropriate. Under a resolution of the Senate agreed to in 1987 the committee also examines proposed changes in the structure and responsibilities of the parliamentary departments.

Reports presented

1 July 2010–27 September 2010


1 July 2010–27 September 2010

Navigation: Previous Page | Contents | Next Page