Public Hearings

Thursday, 16 October 2014

Senate Committee room 2S3

Parliament House, Canberra


Australian Council of Social Service

Dr Cassandra Goldie, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Jacqueline Phillips, Director of Policy

Anglicare ACT Youth Connections

Ms Jennier Kitchin, Director, Community Services ACT

Ms Shyanne Watson, Coordinator, Youth and Educational Support Services Canberra

National Tertiary Education Union (NTEU)

Mr Paul Kniest, Policy and Research Coordinator

Women in Adult Vocational Education (WAVE)

Ms Linda Simon, National Convenor

Ms Jozefa Sobski, Member

Australian Education Union

Mr Angelo Gavrielatos, Federal President

Ms Jennifer Devereaux, Federal Research Officer

Ballarat Grammar

Mr Stephen Higgs, Headmaster

St Vincent de Paul Society

Dr John Falzon, Chief Executive Officer

Australian Medical Students' Association

Ms Jessica Dean, President

Mr Kunal Luthra, Vice President External

National Union of Students

Ms Deanna Taylor

Australian Council of Trade Unions

Mr Dave Oliver, Secretary

Mr Matt Cowgill, Economic Policy Officer

Ms Pat Forward, ACTU National VET Committee

Mr Tim Shipstone, Industrial Officer

Mr Ian Curry, National Coordinator, Skills, Training & Apprenticeships,

Mr Arthur Rorris, NSW South Coast Labour Council

Mr Lance McCallum, National Policy Officer, Electrical Trades Union of Australia

Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Ms Jenny Lambert, Director, Employment, Education and Training  

Mr John Osborn, Director, Economics and Industry Policy


Thursday, 13 November 2014

Legislative Council Committee Room

Parliament House, Melbourne


Victorian Local Governance Association

Councillor Sebastian Klein, President of the Victorian Local Governance Association

Mr Andrew Hollows, Chief Executive Officer

Professor Jago Dodson, Professor of Urban Policy, RMIT University

Mr William McDougall, Private capacity

Eastern Transport Coalition

Councillor Peter Lockwood, Chair

Mr Matthew Hanrahan, Manager of Sustainable Infrastructure, Knox City Council

Public Transport Users Association

Ms Cait Jones, Campaign Director

Planning Institute Australia

Mr Brendan Nelson, President Elect, President Elect

Mr Andrew Herington, Private capacity

Professor Peter Newman, Private capacity

McKell Institute

 Mr Sam Crosby, Executive Director


Tuesday, 25 November 2014

Senate Committee room 2S3

Parliament House, Canberra


Reclink Australia

Mr Rod Butterss, Director

Mr John Ballis, Interim Chief Executive Officer

Mr Peter Cullen, Founder

Mr Brian Millett, Participant


Friday, 12 December 2014

Senate Committee room 2S3

Parliament House, Canberra


Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Mr Mark Scott, Managing Director

Mr Michael Millett, Director, Corporate Affairs

Mr David Anderson, Director, Corporate Strategy and Planning


Mr Michael Ebeid, Managing Director

Mr James Taylor, Chief Financial Officer

Community and Public Sector Union

Mr Michael Tull, National President

Ms Sarah Hunt, Lead Organiser for Public Broadcasting (ABC)

Media, Entertainment and Arts Alliance

Mr Christopher Warren, Federal Secretary

Mr Paul Murphy, Director, Media

Mr Quentin Dempster, Journalist, author and broadcaster

Dr Andrew Ford, Radio National broadcaster, writer and composer

Department of Communications

Ms Nerida O’Loughlin, Deputy Secretary

Dr Simon Pelling, First Assistant Secretary, Consumer and Content Division

Ms Ann Campton, Assistant Secretary, Media

Creative Industries Faculty, Queensland University of Technology (via


Professor Brian McNair, Professor of Journalism

Dr Adam Swift, Senior Research Associate

Dr Ben Goldsmith, Senior Research Fellow

ABC Friends (via teleconference)

Ms Glenys Stradijot, National Spokesperson

Save Our SBS (via teleconference)

Mr Steve Aujard, President

Navigation: Previous Page | Contents