Public hearing - Canberra, Tuesday 24 April 2012

Inquiry into the management of the Murray-Darling Basin

Public hearing - Canberra, Tuesday 24 April 2012

Committee Room 2S1
Parliament House

8.45 am - 4.30 pm



Sub No.

8.45 am

Department of Agriculture Fisheries and Forestry
Mr Allen Grant, First Assistant Secretary, Agricultural Productivity Division
Mr Peter Ottesen, Assistant Secretary, Crops Horticulture and Wine Branch, Agricultural Productivity Division
Mr Paul Morris, Executive Director, ABARES
Dr John Gray, Acting Assistant Secretary, Productivity, Water and Social Sciences Branch, ABARES
Dr Nga Nguyen, Water economics Section, ABARES
Mr Orion Sanders, Water Economics Section, ABARES
Mr Ian Ruscoe, Acting Assistant Secretary, Forestry Branch, Climate Change Division


9.45   am

Inland Rivers Network
Ms Bev Smiles, President

NSW Murray Wetlands Working Group Inc
Mr Roger Good, Executive Member



10.30   am

Morning tea break


10.45 am

Nature Conservation Council of NSW
Ms Bev Smiles, Executive Member

Queensland Conservation Council
Mr Nigel Parratt, River Project Officer

Conservation Council of South Australia
Mr Tim Kelly, Chief Executive

Environment Victoria
Ms Juliet Le Feuvre, Healthy Rivers Campaign Manager
(via teleconference)







11.30 am

Northern Victoria Irrigation Renewal Project
Mr George Warne, Chief Executive Officer
(via teleconference)


12.15 pm

Australian Conservation Foundation
Dr Paul Sinclair, Healthy Ecosystem Manager

Friends of the Earth
Mr Jonathan La Nauze, Murray Darling Campaigner


1.00 pm



1.45 pm

NSW Department of Primary Industries
Dr Peter Snell, Rice Plant Breeder, Yanco


2.30 pm

Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities
Mr David Parker, Deputy Secretary
Ms Mary Harwood, First Assistant Secretary, Water Efficiency
Mr Tony Slatyer, First Assistant Secretary, Water Reform


3.30 pm

Murray Darling Basin Authority
The Hon Craig Knowles, Authority Chair
Dr Rhondda Dickson, Chief Executive
Mr Russell James, Acting Executive Director Policy and Planning Division
Ms Jody Swirepik, Executive Director Environmental Management Division


4.30   pm



For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3511
Fax: +61 2 6277 5811