Media Release

Inquiry into the management of the Murray-Darling Basin

Media Release

Public Hearing Narrabri Tuesday 2 August 2011

The Senate Rural Affairs and Transport Committee will hold a public hearing in Narrabri on Tuesday 2 August 2011 as part of its inquiry into management of the Murray Darling Basin. The committee is specifically hearing evidence on the impact of mining coal seam gas on the management of the basin.

The hearing is being held in the Auditorium, Crossing Theatre, 117 Tibereena St, Narrabri, commencing at 9:00 am and will be chaired by Senator Bill Heffernan.

The committee has invited the following witnesses to give evidence at the public hearing:



Sub No.

9:00 am

NSW Farmers Association, Sydney

Ms Fiona Simson, President
Ms Brianna Casey, Senior Policy Manager


10:00 am

Moree Plains Shire Council

Mayor Councillor Katrina Humphries


10:45 am

Mr James & Ms Natalie Tydd, landholders, Bellata

Ms Victoria Hamilton, landholder, Wee Waa

Mr Tony Pickard, landholder, Narrabri

Mr Daniel Reardon, landholder, Moree

218 & 238




12:15 pm

Caroona Coal Action Group
Ms Rosemary Nankivell, Chair

Mullaley Gas Pipeline Accord
Mr David Quince, Chairman
Mr Donald Parrish
Mr Jim Adams



1:00 pm



2:00 pm

Ms Carmel Flint, Spokesperson for the Northern Inland Council for the Environment

Mr Warrick Jordan, Campaign Manager, The Wilderness Society Newcastle

(Nature Conservation Council NSW, The Wilderness Society, Coolong Foundation for Wilderness, Northern Inland Council for the Environment, Friends of the earth, Coonabarabran Local Environment Group & Armidale National Parks Assoc.)


2:45 pm

Eastern Star Gas (no submission)

Mr Michael Kelly, General Manager Environment

Mr Peter Fox, General Manager Stakeholder Relations


4:15 pm

Cotton Catchment Communities

Ms Jane Macfarlane, Programme Manager

Mr Guy Roth


5:00 pm

Namoi Water

Ms Jon-Maree Baker, Executive Officer



5:45 pm

Adjournment of Hearing


Members of the public are welcome to attend the hearing. People who are unable to attend can follow the proceedings using the live audio feed available on the Parliament of Australia website:
A Hansard transcript of the hearing will also be made and will be available on the committee website in due course.

Further information about the committee's inquiry is available on the committee's website at or by telephoning the committee secretariat on (02) 62773511. The committee is still accepting submissions to this inquiry. Submissions can be lodged online at the committee website, emailed to or posted to:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Rural Affairs and Transport
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3511
Fax: +61 2 6277 5811