Select Committee on the Multi-Jurisdictional Management and Execution of the Murray Darling Basin Plan

On 23 July 2019, the Senate resolved to establish the Select Committee on the Multi-Jurisdictional Management and Execution of the Murray Darling Basin Plan.  The committee will inquire and report on matters relating to the responsibilities for Commonwealth, state and territory governments arising out of the Murray Darling Basin Plan.  It will also examine the effects of the different approaches of the basin states to water resource management in the Murray Darling Basin, and consider the complications in respect of basin-wide or cross jurisdiction oversight.  The committee will also consider any bill relation to the Murray Darling Basin referred to it.

The committee would appreciate submissions by 6 March 2020, but is able to receive and consider submissions provided after that date.

The committee was originally due to present its final report by 1 November 2020. On 25 August 2020, the reporting date was extended to 30 June 2021. On 4 February 2021, the committee agreed to further extend the reporting date to 30 September 2021.

The select committee concluded its inquiry when it tabled its report on 30 September 2021.

Issues Paper and preparing a written submission

The committee has prepared and released an Issues Paper. The Issues Paper sets out some of the key issues relevant to the committee's terms of reference. It also poses some key questions on pages xvi to xviii which highlight some areas of interest to the committee that submitters may wish to address.

As noted in the Issues Paper, the committee is not seeking to revisit all of the issues covered in previous reviews of the Basin Plan. Instead, it aims to identify ways to improve efficiency, transparency, consistency, collaboration, and accountability across the various roles, responsibilities, and interactions of the Commonwealth and state agencies in implementing and enforcing the Plan.

See the committee's work plan for more information.

Bill inquiry: Constitution Alteration  (Water Resources) 2019 inquiry

Please note that, in addition to its main work (referred to under the heading 'current inquiries' below as the inquiry into 'Multi-Jurisdictional Management and Execution of the Murray Darling Basin Plan'), the committee is also conducting a concurrent inquiry into Constitution Alteration (Water Resources) 2019, a private member’s bill.

Submissions to the Constitution Alteration (Water Resources) 2019 inquiry close on 6 March 2020. However, the committee is able to receive late submissions. If you are making a submission specifically to the bill inquiry, rather than to the committee’s main inquiry, please indicate this in the subject line or heading of your submission (for example, ‘Submission to the Constitution Alteration (Water Resources) 2019 inquiry’). Submitters may also wish to make their submission available to both the committee’s main inquiry and the bill inquiry.

Current Inquiries

Committee Secretariat contact:

Senior Clerk's Office
Department of the Senate
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 02 6277 3555
Fax: +61 02 6277 5809