Public hearing - Melbourne, Wednesday 15 July 2009

Public hearing - Melbourne, Wednesday 15 July 2009

Cliftons, Level 1
440 Collins Street

8.00am – 3.15pm

Inquiry into Access to Justice

8.00am – 8.45am

Family Court of Australia
Chief Justice Diana Bryant
Federal Magistrates Court (Joint Submission 31)
Chief Federal Magistrate John Pascoe AO (via teleconference)

8.45am – 9.30am

Aboriginal Family Violence Prevention & Legal Service Victoria (Submission 38)
Ms Antoinette Braybrook, Chief Executive Officer
Ms Marion Hansen, Chairperson FVPLS Victoria
Ms Shelley Burchfield, Policy Development FVPLS Victoria
Mr John Burke, FVPLS Victoria's Planning Reference Group

9.30am – 9.45am

Morning tea break

9.45am – 10.30am

Victorian Bar Association (No Submission)
Mr John Digby QC, Chairman, Victorian Bar Council

10.30am – 11.15am

Public Interest Law Clearing House (Submission 33)
Public Interest Law Clearing House, Connect (Submission 20)

11.15am – 12. 45pm

National Legal Aid (Submission 34)
Mr Norman Reaburn, Chairman

12.45pm – 1.45pm

Lunch break

1.45pm – 2.30pm

Law Institute of Victoria (Submission 11)

2.30pm – 3.15pm

Assoc. Prof. Mary Anne Noone, School of Law, La Trobe University (Submission 7)
West Heidelberg Community Legal Service (Submission 37)
Dr Liz Curran, Director

3.15pm (approx)


Chair: Senator Guy Barnett; Deputy Chair: Senator Trish Crossin; Secretary: Peter Hallahan

For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Legal and Constitutional Affairs
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3560
Fax: +61 2 6277 5794