Appendix 3

Public hearings and witnesses

Thursday 17 November 2017

Dr Nick Forde, Senior Clinical Lecturer, Discipline of Psychiatry

Mr Ray Kemp – private capacity

Dr Jon Lane – private capacity

The William Kibby VC, Veterans' Shed

Mr Barry Heffernan, Shed Coordinator

Northern Suburbs Veterans Support Centre

Mr Arthur Ventham, Chair

Mr Guy Bowering – private capacity

Returned and Services League (South Australia Branch)

Ms Julia Langrehr, Chief Executive Officer

Brigadier Tim Hanna, State President

Mr Justin Brown, Director, Veterans Services

Government of South Australia

Mr Rob Manton, Director Veterans SA

Veterans' Advisory Council of South Australia

Air Vice Marshal Brent Espeland AM, Chair

Mr Chris Burns, SA Commissioner for Mental Health and member of the Veterans' Advisory Council SA

Ms Chantelle Graham, Member of the Veterans' Advisory Council, SA


Friday 18 November 2017

Soldier On

Mr John Bale, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Nicole Thomson-Pride, Communications and Media Manager

Partners of Veterans Association of Australia

Ms Narelle Bromhead, President

Mrs Lesley Minner, Entitlements Officer

Alliance of Defence Service Organisations

Colonel David Jamison AM (retd), National Spokesman, Royal Australian Armoured Corps Corporation

Mr Noel McLaughlin, Chairman

Suicide Prevention Australia

Mr Anastasios (Stan) Piperoglou, Director

Mr Ben Johnson – private capacity

Dr Catriona Bruce

Mr Sam Miller

Dr Julie Christie

Vietnam Veterans' Federation of Australia

Mr James Wain, National President

Mr Allan Anforth – private capacity

Trooper Evan Donaldson – private capacity


Thursday 2 February 2017

Australian Institute for Suicide Research and Prevention

Dr Katelyn Kerr, Clinical Psychologist

Dr Kairi Kolves, Principal Research Fellow and Course Convener

Dr Andrew Khoo, Director of Medical Services, Toowong Private Hospital

Defence Force Welfare Association - Queensland Branch

Mr John Lowis, President

Mr Robert Shortridge, Executive Vice President

Slater & Gordon Lawyers

Mr Brian Briggs, Practice Group Leader, Military Compensation

Private Mental Health Consumer Carer Network (Australia) Limited

Ms Janne McMahon OAM, Chair and Executive Officer

Mr Norm Wotherspoon, Coordinator for Queensland

Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists

Professor Malcolm Hopwood, President


Mr Simon Sauer, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Suzanne Desailly, General Manager Operations

Ruff Love Assistance Dogs

Mr Ricky Lawson, President

Mr Timothy Clark, Treasurer

Mr Russel Ward, Secretary

Phoenix Australia - Centre for Posttraumatic Mental Health

Professor David Forbes, Director

Dr Andrea Phelps, Deputy Director

Dr John Cooper, Consultant Psychiatrist


Monday 6 February 2017

Returned and Services League of Australia

Mr Robert Dick, Acting National President

Mr Jim Gilchrist, Deputy President

Veterans' Review Board

Mr Doug Humphreys, Principal Member

Ms Katrina Harry, National Registrar

Department of Defence

VADM, Ray Griggs AO, CSC, Vice Chief of the Defence Force

Mr David Morton, Director General Mental Health, Psychology and Rehabilitation

RADM Brett Wolski AM, Head People Capability

AVM Tracy Smart, Commander Joint Health

Administrative Appeals Tribunal

Ms Sian Leathem, Registrar

Mr Chris Matthies, Executive Director Strategy and Policy

Repatriation Medical Authority

Professor Nick Saunders AO, Chair

Professor Gerard Byrne, Member

Mr Paul Murdoch, Registrar

Dr Sandra Pollitt, Medical Researcher

Australian Peacekeeper and Peacemaker Veterans' Association

Mr Rod Thompson, Advocate Level 4

Mr Michael Quinn, Advocate Level 4

Department of Veterans' Affairs

Mr Simon Lewis PSM, Secretary

Ms Liz Cosson AM, CSC, Deputy Secretary

Mr Craig Orme DSC AM CSC, Deputy President, Repatriation Commission

Ms Carolyn Spiers, Principal Legal Adviser


Friday 5 May 2017

Mr Frank O'Neill – private capacity

Veterans Advisory Council Western Australia

Mr Max Ball, Chair

Mr Peter Larter, Advocate, Australian Special Air Service Association

Mr Peter Reece – private capacity

Australian Federation of Totally and Permanently Incapacitated (TPI) Ex-Service Men and Women

Ms Pat McCabe OAM, President

Mr Ray Pearce, WA Vice President

Bravery Trust

Mr Peter Fitzpatrick AM, Chair

Mr Sean Farrell, Chief Executive Officer

Navigation: Previous Page | Contents