Appendix 3

Public hearings and witnesses

Public hearings during the 44th Parliament

Friday 1 April 2016 – Wollongong

BlueScope Australia and New Zealand

Mr Mark Vassella, Chief Executive
Mr Gerry Tidd, Executive Vice President, Corporate Affairs

Bisalloy Steel Group Limited

Mr Thomas Matinca, General Manager, Sales and Strategy
Mr Greg Albert, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director

The Australian Workers' Union

Mr Wayne Phillips, Branch Secretary
Mr Glenn Leake, Branch Executive Delegate
Mr Lance Turner, Branch Executive Delegate

South Coast Labour Council

Mr Arthur Rorris, Secretary
Mr Jason Ward, Senior Global Strategist, International Transport Workers Federation

University of Wollongong

Mr Damien Israel, Chief Finance Officer
Mr Oscar Gregory, Director, ARC Research Hub for Australian Steel Manufacturing

Wollongong City Council

Councillor Gordon Bradbery, Lord Mayor

Illawarra Business Chamber

Ms Debra Murphy, Chief Executive Officer
Ms Rebecca Burdick, Policy Manager


Tuesday 5 April 2016 – Whyalla

ICE Engineering and Construction Pty Ltd

Mr Nicholas Bindi, Chief Executive Officer

Australian Workers' Union South Australia

Mr Scott Martin, Branch Organiser
Mr Peter Lamps, Acting State Branch Secretary
Mr David Gabb, AWU Delegate/Steelworker, Onesteel

Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union

Mr Steve McMillan, Organiser

Department of State Development, South Australia

Mr Ian Nightingale, Industry Participation Advocate

City of Whyalla

Councillor Tom Antonio, Acting Mayor

Regional Development Australia Whyalla and Eyre Peninsula Inc.

Mr Dion Dorward, Chief Executive Officer
Mr Alexander Todd, Economic Development Manager E&A Ltd

Mr Stephen Young, Managing Director


Thursday 06 April 2016 – Canberra

Australian Steel Institute   

Mr Tony Dixon, Chief Executive
Mr Ian Cairns, National Manager, Industry Development and Government Relations

Australian Workers Union

Mr Michael (Misha) Zelinsky, National Vice President
Mr Richard Downie, Branch Secretary, Newcastle, Central Coast and Northern Regions Branch

Australian Manufacturing Workers Union

Dr Tom Skladzien, National Economics and Industry Adviser
Mr Daniel White, Organiser

Forestry, Mining and Energy Union

Mr Travis Wacey, Policy Research Officer, Forestry, Furnishing, Building Products and Manufacturing Division, Construction

Arrium Mining and Materials

Ms Naomi James, Chief Executive, Strategy
Mr Neil Gibson, Executive General Manager, Steel Manufacturing and Integration

National Association of Steel-Framed Housing Inc.

Mr Kenneth Watson, Executive Director
Mr John Shayler, National President

Welding Technology Institute of Australia

Mr Geoff Crittenden, Chief Executive Officer

On behalf of 63 businesses

Mr John Doyle
Mr Ian Waters
Mr Jason Leussink

Standards Australia

Mr Adam Stingemore, General Manager, Stakeholder Engagement and Public Affairs
Mrs Kareen Riley-Takos, General Manager, Standards Development

Department of Industry, Innovation and Science

Mr Peter Chesworth, Head of Division, Sectoral Growth Policy Division
Dr Gary Richards, General Manager, Advanced Technologies Branch
Mr Martin Squire, General Manager, Trade and Investment Branch
Dr Anne Byrne, General Manager, Manufacturing and Services Policy Branch

Anti-Dumping Commission

Mr Dale Seymour, Anti-Dumping Commissioner
Dr Annette Weier, General Manager, Advisory

Navigation: Previous Page | Contents