Terms of reference

Inquiry into National Registration and Accreditation Scheme for Doctors and Other Health Workers

Terms of reference

Download terms of reference (PDF 10KB)

The Senate has referred the following matter to the Community Affairs Committee for inquiry and report by 18 June 2009:

The design of the Federal Government’s national registration and accreditation scheme for doctors and other health workers, including:

  1. the impact of the scheme on state and territory health services;

  2. the impact of the scheme on patient care and safety;

  3. the effect of the scheme on standards of training and qualification of relevant health professionals;

  4. how the scheme will affect complaints management and disciplinary processes within particular professional streams;

  5. the appropriate role, if any, in the scheme for state and territory registration boards; and

  6. alternative models for implementation of the scheme.

Written submissions are invited and should be addressed to:

The Secretary
Senate Community Affairs Committee
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Closing date for the receipt of submissions is 30 April 2009.

The Committee prefers to receive submissions electronically as an attached document - email: community.affairs.sen@aph.gov.au.

Submissions become Committee documents and are made public only after a decision by the Committee. Publication of submissions includes loading them onto the internet and their being available to other interested parties including the media. Persons making submissions must not release them without the approval of the Committee. Submissions are covered by parliamentary privilege but the unauthorised release of them is not protected.

Following consideration of submissions, the Committee will hold public hearings. The Committee will consider all submissions and may invite individuals and organisations to give evidence at the public hearings.

Information relating to Senate Committee inquiries, including notes to assist in the preparation of submissions for a Committee, can be located on the internet at http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/wit_sub/index.htm.

For further details contact the Committee Secretary, phone: (02) 6277 3515, fax (02) 6277 5829, email: community.affairs.sen@aph.gov.au.

For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Community Affairs
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3515
Fax: +61 2 6277 5829
Email: community.affairs.sen@aph.gov.au