Third Interim Report

Third Interim Report

14 May 2014

© Commonwealth of Australia 2014

View the report as a single document - (PDF 424KB)

13 May 2014

Senator the Hon. John Hogg
President of the Senate
Parliament House

Inquiry into the Abbott Government's Commission of Audit
Interim Report

Dear Mr President

On 11 December 2013 the Select Committee into the Abbott Government’s Commission of Audit, was established to inquire into the National Commission of Audit (the commission) established by the Commonwealth Government and, in particular, any report of that commission to the government, with interim reports as the committee sees fit and a final report on or before 13 May 2014.

The committee has received 48 submissions and has held public hearings in Canberra (15 January, 5 February, 18 February, 15 April and 2 May 2014), Melbourne on 13 March and Perth on 1 April 2014.

The committee tabled interim reports on 19 February and 24 April 2014.

The reports from the commission were released by the government on 1 May 2014 and the Budget, released today, is the government's initial response to these reports.

The committee wishes to extend its reporting date to 16 June 2014 to allow it to give full consideration to the commission's recommendations, the government's response in the Budget, collect further evidence and conclude its deliberations.

Recommendation 1

The committee recommends that the reporting date for the Senate Select Committee into the Abbott Government's Commission of Audit be extended to 16 June 2014.

Yours sincerely

Senator Richard Di Natale


Government Senators' Dissenting Report

On 11 December 2013, the Select Committee into the Abbott Government's Commission of Audit was established by a majority vote of the Senate 'to inquire into the National Commission of Audit', established by the Commonwealth Government. The Senate set 13 May 2014 as the date by which the Committee should present its final report.

The Committee was established through the collaboration of Opposition and Greens Senators, set up with a majority of non-Government Senators, both the Chair and Deputy Chair being held by non-Government Senators and with quorum requirements meaning decisions can be made in the absence of Government Senators.

Since its establishment, it has received submissions, held public hearings and tabled two interim reports.

Its final hearing was held post the public release of the final report of the National Commission of Audit on 1 May 2014. Given this, it is the view of Government Senators that the terms of reference of the Committee have been addressed and that there is no further useful purpose that this Committee could have in undertaking further work.

Recommendation 1

That the Committee delivers its final report to the Senate.

Senator David Bushby     Senator Sean Edwards     Senator Dean Smith

For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Select Committee into the Abbott Government's Commission of Audit
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3530
Fax: +61 2 6277 5809