Australian Parliament House closed to visitors - the public main entrance will be closed indefinitely from 5pm 25 March 2020. Read more.

About this inquiry

On 21 September 2016, the Special Minister of State, Senator the Hon Scott Ryan, asked the Committee to inquire into and report on all aspects of the 2016 Federal Election and related matters.

The Committee is conducting a review of political donations as part of its inquiry into the conduct of the 2016 federal election.

Past Public Hearings

20 Nov 2018: ACT
29 Jun 2018: Parkes, ACT
20 Feb 2018: West Perth, WA


Senator the Hon James McGrath (from 12 September 2018)
Senator the Hon Linda Reynolds (to 29 August 2018)
Deputy Chair
Mr Andrew Giles MP
Scullin, VIC
Senator Carol Brown
Hon Scott Buchholz MP (to 28 August 2018)
Wright, QLD
Mr Milton Dick MP
Oxley, QLD
Senator Chris Ketter
Mr Ben Morton MP
Tangney, WA
Senator Barry O'Sullivan
Hon Keith Pitt MP (from 10 September 2018)
Hinkler, QLD
Senator Lee Rhiannon (to 14 August 2018)
Australian Greens, NSW
Senator the Hon Lisa Singh
(from 1 December 2016 to 8 February 2017)
Senator Jordon Steele-John
(from 16 August to 20 September 2018)
Australian Greens, WA
Senator Larissa Waters (from 20 September 2018)
Australian Greens, NSW
Mrs Lucy Wicks MP
Robertson, NSW

Participating members for the inquiry1
Senator the Hon Eric Abetz
Senator Chris Back
Senator Cory Bernardi
Senator Catryna Bilyk
Senator Slade Brockman
Senator David Bushby
Senator the Hon Doug Cameron
Senator the Hon Kim Carr
Senator Anthony Chisholm
Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck
Senator the Hon Jacinta Collins
Senator the Hon Stephen Conroy
Senator Sam Dastyari
Senator Richard Di Natale
Senator Pat Dodson
Senator Jonathon Duniam
Senator the Hon Don Farrell
Senator David Fawcett
Senator the Hon Concetta Fierravanti-Wells
Senator Alex Gallacher
Senator Katy Gallagher
Senator Lucy Gichuhi
Senator Sarah Hanson-Young
Senator Derryn Hinch
Senator Jane Hume
Senator David Leyonhjelm
Senator Sue Lines
Senator Scott Ludlam
Senator the Hon Ian Macdonald
Senator Gavin Marshall
Senator Jenny McAllister
Senator Malarndirri McCarthy
Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie
Senator Nick McKim
Senator Jim Molan AO, DSC
Senator Claire Moore
Senator Deborah O'Neill
Senator James Paterson
Senator Helen Polley
Senator Louise Pratt
Senator Janet Rice
Senator Rachel Siewert
Senator the Hon Lisa Singh
Senator Dean Smith
Senator Glenn Sterle
Senator Amanda Stoker
Senator Anne Urquhart
Senator Murray Watt
Senator Larissa Waters
Senator Peter Whish-Wilson
Senator John Williams
Senator the Hon Penny Wong

SecretaryLynley Ducker
Inquiry Secretary Siobhán Leyne
Senior Research OfficerAndrew Gaczol
Research OfficersDanton Leary
Emma Vines
Office ManagerKelly Burt

  • 1
    Not all participating members participated in the full inquiry due to resignation from the Senate, discharge from the Senate due to s. 44 findings, entry to, or departure from, the Ministry.

 |  Contents  |