Australian Parliament House closed to visitors - the public main entrance will be closed indefinitely from 5pm 25 March 2020. Read more.

Petitions presented during the 45th Parliament (received in the 44th Parliament)

      These petitions were received by the Standing Committee on Petitions of the 44th Parliament and certified as being in-order. 
      These petitions were presented by the Chair of the Standing Committee on Petitions, Mr Ross Vasta MP on Monday 10 
      October 2016.

Petition number  Details  Signatures Response
1150/1657 Closure of the Medicare/Centrelink office in Belmont, NSW (PDF 90KB) 1784 12/11/2016 - Minister for Human Services
1151/1659 Superannuation Complaints Tribunal's powers to review death benefits
(PDF 60KB)
29 14/12/2016 - Minister for Revenue and Financial Services
1154/1662  Ratification of the Optional Protocol to the Convention Against Torture (PDF 68KB) 1  2/3/2017 - Attorney General

Reduce violence against women and children and provide more crisis refuges (PDF 119KB)

8423  3/2/2017 - Minister for Women
1157/1665 Recognition of Australian indigenous people in the Constitution (PDF 70KB)  49  
1158/1666 Refugee and asylum seeker processing and the resettlement and appeals system (PDF 59KB) 73  
1161/1669 End to the export of live animals for slaughter (PDF 89KB)  6661   
1162/1670 Immediate end to Falun Gong in China (PDF 46KB) 13471 16/12/2016 - Minister for Foreign Affairs
1163/1671 Closure of Manus Island and Nauru detention facilities (PDF 115KB) 364  
1164/1672 Mobile phone coverage in Wasleys SA (PDF 740KB)  769 19/12/2016 - Minister for Regional Communications
1165/1763 All land, companies and trusts to be at least 51 per cent Australian owned
(PDF 20KB)
1165/1674 All land, companies and trusts to be at least 51 per cent Australian owned
(PDF 872KB)
1166/1675 Introduction of a fee and dividend policy on carbon fuels (PDF 53KB) 240   6/3/2017 - Treasurer
1167/1676 Persecuted Christians in the Middle East. (PDF 235KB) 6,601 22/11/2016 - Minister for Immigration and Border Protection

Current Inquiries

Committee Secretariat contact:

Committee Secretary
Standing Committee on Petitions
PO Box 6021
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 2152
Fax: +61 2 6277 4627