E. Australian Public Sector Agencies

The list of Australian Public Service (APS) Agencies which appears below is divided into four categories:
Category A – Departments;
Category B – Statutory Agencies with all staff employed under the Public Service Act 1999 (the PS Act);
Category C – Statutory Agencies which have the capacity to employ staff under the PS Act as well as their own enabling legislation (dual staffing bodies);
Category D – Executive Agencies.
A fifth category (Category E) includes bodies which employ staff under the Public Service Act 1999 and operate with some degree of independence. However, these bodies are parts of APS agencies rather than separate APS agencies as defined in the PS Act.1

Category A


Attorney-General's Department
Department of Agriculture and Water Resources
Department of Communications and the Arts
Department of Defence
Department of Education and Training
Department of Jobs and Small Business
Department of Finance
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Department of Health
Department of Human Services
Department of Home Affairs
Department of Industry, Innovation and Science
Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities
Department of Social Services
Department of the Environment and Energy
Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
Department of the Treasury
Department of Veterans' Affairs

Category B

Statutory Agencies which employ all staff under the Public Service Act 1999

Aboriginal Hostels Limited
Administrative Appeals Tribunal
Asbestos Safety and Eradication Agency
Australian Aged Care Quality Agency
Australian Building and Construction Commission
Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research
Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity
Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
Australian Communications and Media Authority
Australian Competition and Consumer Commission
Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission
Australian Fisheries Management Authority
Australian Human Rights Commission
Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies
Australian Law Reform Commission
Australian National Audit Office
Australian National Maritime Museum
Australian National Preventive Health Agency
Australian Organ and Tissue Donation and Transplantation Authority (Organ and Tissue Authority)
Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority
Australian Public Service Commission
Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency
Australian Research Council
Australian Skills Quality Authority
Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority
Australian Taxation Office
Australian Trade and Investment Commission
Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre
Australian Transport Safety Bureau
Australian War Memorial
Cancer Australia
Clean Energy Regulator
Climate Change Authority
Defence Housing Australia
Fair Work Commission
Federal Court Statutory Agency
Food Standards Australia New Zealand
Future Fund Management Agency
Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
Independent Hospital Pricing Authority
Independent Parliamentary Expenses Authority
Murray-Darling Basin Authority
National Blood Authority
National Capital Authority
National Competition Council
National Disability Insurance Agency
National Film and Sound Archive of Australia
National Health and Medical Research Council
National Health Funding Body
National Library of Australia
National Museum of Australia
National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority
National Portrait Gallery of Australia
Office of Parliamentary Counsel
Office of the Australian Information Commissioner
Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman
Office of the Fair Work Ombudsman
Office of the Inspector-General of Taxation
Old Parliament House
Productivity Commission
Professional Services Review
Safe Work Australia
Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency
Torres Strait Regional Authority
Workplace Gender Equality Agency

Category C

Statutory Agencies with dual staffing powers

Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australian Digital Health Agency
Australian Electoral Commission
Australian Institute of Criminology
Australian Institute of Family Studies
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
Australian Securities and Investments Commission
Infrastructure Australia
National Transport Commission#
Office of National Assessments
Office of the Auditing and Assurance Standards Board#
Office of the Australian Accounting Standards Board#
Office of the Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions
Office of the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security
Screen Australia
#Do not currently employ any staff under the PS Act.

Category D

Executive Agencies

Australian Financial Security Authority
Bureau of Meteorology
Digital Transformation Agency
Infrastructure and Project Financing Agency
National Archives of Australia
National Mental Health Commission

Category E

Bodies with staff employed under the PS Act which operate with some degree of independence (e.g. Some have their own enterprise agreement and/or are identified separately but are NOT separate APS agencies as defined in the PS Act.
Australian Office of Financial Management (part of the Department of the Treasury)
Australian Renewable Energy Agency (part of the Department of Environment and Energy)
Commonwealth Grants Commission (part of the Department of the Treasury)
Director of National Parks (part of the Department of the Environment and Energy)
Geoscience Australia (part of the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science)
IP Australia (part of the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science)
Royal Australian Mint (part of the Department of the Treasury)
Seafarers Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Authority - Seacare Authority (part of Comcare)

  • 1
    This Appendix reproduces the information on the Australian Public Service Commission’s website, <http://www.apsc.gov.au/publications-and-media/current-publications/australian-public-service-agencies>, viewed 6 April 2018.

 |  Contents  |