Review of the Four Major Banks and other Financial Institutions

On Thursday, 1 August 2019, The Treasurer, The Hon Josh Frydenberg MP, asked the Standing Committee on Economics to Review Australia's Four Major Banks and other Financial Institutions. The sectors that will be reviewed are the:

  1. Four Major Banks
  2. Superannuation Sector
  3. Smaller Banks
  4. Insurance Sector
  5. Financial Advice Sector

The committee does not investigate, adjudicate nor seek to resolve individual cases.


Due to health and safety concerns relating to the COVID-19 pandemic, these hearings are not currently scheduled to be open for public attendance. Interested members of the public will be able to view proceedings via the live webcast.



Committee Secretariat contact:

Committee Secretary
Standing Committee on Economics
PO Box 6021
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: (02) 6277 4587
Fax: (02) 6277 4774

About this inquiry

The Standing Committee on Economics will Review Australia's Four Major Banks and other Financial Institutions.

Track Inquiry

Past Public Hearings

29 Jul 2021: Canberra
29 Jul 2021: Canberra
08 Jul 2021: Canberra


Inquiry Status



If you require any special arrangements to enable you to participate in the Committee's inquiry, please contact the Committee Secretariat.

Further information regarding accessibility can be found at