Public hearing - Sydney, 31 January 2007

Inquiry into the Migration Amendment (Review Provisions) Bill 2006

Public hearing - Sydney, 31 January 2007

Commonwealth Offices
70 Philip Street, Sydney

9.00am – 1.00pm

9.00 am - 9.45 am

Australian Lawyers for Human Rights (Submission 9)
Mr Craig Lenehan
Mr Kerry Murphy

9.45 am - 10.30 am

Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission (HREOC) (Submission 5)
Mr Graeme Innes, Human Rights Commissioner and the Commissioner responsible for Disability Discrimination
Ms Vanessa Lesnie, Director, Human Rights Unit
Ms Alex Newton, Lawyer

10.30 am - 11.15 am

Refugee and Immigration Legal Centre (Submission x)
Mr David Manne, Coordinator
Refugee Council of Australia (via teleconference) (Submission 10)
Mr John Gibson, President

11.15 am - 12.00 pm

Ms Michaela Byers (Submission 2)

12.00 pm - 1.00 pm

Migration Review Tribunal and Refugee Review Tribunal (Submission x)
Mr Steve Karas, Principal Member
Mr John Lynch, Registrar
Mr Rhys Jones, Deputy Registrar
Mr Giles Short, Senior Member
Ms Sobet Haddad, Principal Solicitor
Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs (DIMA) (Submission x)
Mr John Eyers, Acting Chief Lawyer
Ms Vicki Parker, Assistant Secretary, Legal Framework Branch

For further information, contact:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committees on Legal and Constitutional Affairs
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 3560
Fax: +61 2 6277 5794