About this committee

The Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples was appointed by a resolution of appointment in March 2018.

The Committee presented its interim report on 30 July 2018 and presented its final report on 29 November 2018.

Past Public Hearings

18 Oct 2018: Canberra, ACT
16 Oct 2018: Canberra, ACT
12 Oct 2018: Cancelled


Inquiry Status

Report tabled


If you require any special arrangements to enable you to participate in the Committee's inquiry, please contact the Committee Secretariat.

Further information regarding accessibility can be found at www.aph.gov.au/Help/Accessibility

Additional Meetings

Links below are to excerpts from transcripts of private meetings; published with the permission of participants and by resolution of the Committee. 

Date Venue Participants
Tuesday, 17 April 2018 Melbourne 1. National Congress of Australia's First Peoples (PDF)

2. Professor Megan Davis (PDF)

3. New South Wales Land Council (PDF)

4. Prime Minister's Indigenous Advisory Council (PDF)

Wednesday, 18 April 2018 Melbourne 1. Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies (PDF)

2. Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet (PDF)

3. Reconciliation Australia (PDF)

4. Mr Thomas Mayor (PDF)

5. Mr Tauto Sansbury (PDF)

6. Mr Geoffrey Winters (PDF)

7. Dr Shireen Morris (PDF)

Committee Secretariat contact:

Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition
Relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples
PO Box 6021
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 4129