Ministry 3 March 2011 - 12 September 2011

The 43rd Parliament

3 March 2011 - 12 September 2011


Prime Minister
The Hon Julia Gillard, MP

(Deputy Prime Minister)
The Hon Wayne Swan, MP

Minister for Foreign Affairs
The Hon Kevin Rudd, MP

Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Jobs and Workplace Relations
(Leader of the Government in the Senate)
Senator the Hon Chris Evans

Minister for Regional Australia, Regional Development and Local Government
Minister for the Arts
The Hon Simon Crean, MP

Minister for Defence
(Deputy Leader of the House)
The Hon Stephen Smith, MP

Minister for Health and Ageing
The Hon Nicola Roxon, MP

Minister for Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs
The Hon Jenny Macklin, MP

Minister for Infrastructure and Transport
(Leader of the House)
The Hon Anthony Albanese, MP

Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on Digital Productivity
(Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate)
Senator the Hon Stephen Conroy

Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research
Senator the Hon Kim Carr

Minister for Finance and Deregulation
Senator the Hon Penny Wong

Minister for School Education, Early Childhood and Youth
The Hon Peter Garrett, AM, MP

(Vice-President of the Executive Council)
The Hon Robert McClelland, MP

Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
Minister Assisting the Attorney-General on Queensland Floods Recovery
(Manager of Government Business in the Senate)
Senator the Hon Joseph Ludwig

Minister for Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities
The Hon Tony Burke, MP

Minister for Resources and Energy
Minister for Tourism
The Hon Martin Ferguson, MP

Minister for Immigration and Citizenship
The Hon Chris Bowen, MP

Minister for Trade
The Hon Dr Craig Emerson, MP

Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency
The Hon Greg Combet, AM, MP


Outer Ministry

Minister for Human Services
Minister for Social Inclusion
The Hon Tanya Plibersek, MP

Minister for Home Affairs
Minister for Justice
Minister for Privacy and Freedom of Information
The Hon Brendan O'Connor, MP

Minister for Employment Participation and Childcare
Minister for the Status of Women
The Hon Kate Ellis, MP

Minister for Indigenous Employment and Economic Development
Minister for Sport
Minister for Social Housing and Homelessness
Senator the Hon. Mark Arbib

Minister for Small Business
Minister Assisting on Deregulation and Public Sector Superannuation
Minister Assisting the Minister for Tourism
Senator the Hon Nick Sherry

Minister for Veterans' Affairs
Minister for Defence Science and Personnel
Minister for Indigenous Health
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on the Centenary of ANZAC
The Hon Warren Snowdon, MP

Assistant Treasurer
Minister for Financial Services and Superannuation
The Hon Bill Shorten, MP

Minister for Mental Health and Ageing
The Hon. Mark Butler, MP

Special Minister of State
Special Minister of State for the Public Service and Integrity
The Hon Gary Gray, AO, MP

Minister for Defence Materiel
The Hon Jason Clare, MP


Parliamentary Secretaries

Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer
The Hon David Bradbury, MP

Parliamentary Secretary for School Education and Workplace Relations
Senator the Hon Jacinta Collins

Parliamentary Secretary for Community Services
The Hon Julie Collins, MP

Parliamentary Secretary for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency
Cabinet Secretary
The Hon Mark Dreyfus, QC, MP

Parliamentary Secretary for Trade
The Hon Justine Elliot, MP

Parliamentary Secretary for Sustainability and Urban Water
Senator the Hon Don Farrell

Parliamentary Secretary for Defence
Senator the Hon David Feeney

Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
The Hon Mike Kelly, AM, MP

Parliamentary Secretary for Health and Ageing
Parliamentary Secretary for Infrastructure and Transport
The Hon Catherine King, MP

Parliamentary Secretary for Immigration and Multicultural Affairs
Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister
Senator the Hon Kate Lundy

Parliamentary Secretary for Pacific Island Affairs
The Hon. Richard Marles 

Parliamentary Secretary for Disabilities and Carers
Senator the Hon Jan McLucas