New Parliamentary Inquiry: New drugs and novel medical technologies

Issue date: Tuesday, 18 August 2020

House of Representatives media release header

The House of Representatives Standing Committee on Health, Aged Care and Sport has commenced an inquiry into approval processes for new drugs and novel medical technologies in Australia.

The Chair of the Committee, Mr Trent Zimmerman MP, said that the Committee looks forward to receiving information on how Australia can continue to be well positioned to access new drugs and novel medical technologies, with a particular focus on access to the treatment of rare diseases and conditions where there is high and unmet clinical need.

Mr Zimmerman commented that ‘the Committee will examine processes in place for establishing and conducting clinical trials in improving the lives of patients and increasing investment in Australia’s research and development sector.

The Committee will also look at options to incentivise earlier application for approval by sponsors of new drugs and novel medical technologies, without compromising patient safety or the assessment of cost-effectiveness.

We’re looking forward to hearing from the public, health professionals and organisations, pharmaceutical companies and other interested parties on how Australia could position itself best on providing access to new drugs and novel medical technologies for all Australians now and into the future.’

Submissions from interested individuals and organisations are invited by Tuesday 13 October. If stakeholders have been impacted by Covid19 and require an extension for submissions, please contact the secretariat on The preferred method of receiving submissions is by electronic format lodged online using a My Parliament account.

Further information about the Committee’s inquiry, including the full terms of reference and details on how to lodge a submission are available at the Committee’s website.

Media inquiries

Hugo Robinson – Trent Zimmerman’s office – 0405 014 849

For background information

Committee Secretariat
02 6277 4145

House of Representatives media release header