Mr Trent Zimmerman

Mr Trent Zimmerman

Former Member

Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for North Sydney, New South Wales at by-election 2015, vice the Hon. J Hockey (resigned). Re-elected 2016 and 2019. Defeated at general elections 2022.
Parliamentary positions
  • Member of the Speaker's Panel from 2.7.2019 to 11.4.2022.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Infrastructure, Transport and Cities served from 2.2.2016 to 9.5.2016; Infrastructure, Transport and Cities served from 14.9.2016 to 11.4.2019; Health, Aged Care and Sport served as Chair from 14.9.2016 to 11.4.2022; Environment and Energy served from 4.7.2019 to 11.4.2022; Privileges and Members' Interests served from 4.7.2019 to 11.4.2022; Communications and the Arts served from 10.6.2020 to 11.4.2022
  • Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade served from 14.9.2016 to 1.7.2019; Parliamentary Library served from 10.10.2016 to 1.7.2019
  • Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit served from 4.7.2019 to 27.8.2020
Parliamentary party positions
  • Liberal Party of Australia. Served: 05.12.2015 to 21.05.2022
Party positions
  • President of the Young Liberal Movement (NSW), 1992.
  • President of the Federal Young Liberal Movement, 1993.
  • Member of the Liberal Party State Executive (NSW) from 2006 to 2017.
  • Vice-President of the Liberal Party (NSW) from 2011 to 2015.
  • President of the Liberal Party (NSW) from 2015 to 2017.
  • Born: 15.10.1968, Sydney, Australia
  • Gender: Male
  • Marital Status: Partner
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • Adviser to Senator the Hon. R Hill from 1993 to 2000.
  • Public Affairs Consultant from 2000 to 2001.
  • Adviser to P King, MP from 2001 to 2004.
  • Adviser to the Hon. J Hockey, MP from 2004 to 2011.
  • Deputy Chief Executive Officer and Director of Transport Policy, Tourism and Transport Forum from 2011 to 2015.
Local Government service
  • Councillor, North Sydney Council from 2004 to 2012.
  • Name: North Sydney
  • Location: North Sydney covers an area from Sydney Harbour in the south to Fullers Road, Victoria Avenue, Warrane Road, Warrane Reserve, Eastern Valley Way and Scotts Creek in the north and from Middle Harbour, Wyong Road, Macpherson Street, Military Road, Falcon Street, Bent Street, Forsyth Park, Montpelier Street, Eaton Street, Rawson Street, Kurraba Road, Andersons Park and Neutral Bay in the east to Punt Road, Pittwater Road and Lane Cove River in the west. Suburbs include Artarmon, Castlecrag, Cremorne, Crows Nest, Greenwich, Henley, Hunters Hill, Kirribilli, Lane Cove, McMahons Point, Middle Cove, Naremburn, Northbridge, North Sydney, Riverview, Waverton, Willoughby and Woolwich.
  • Area: 53 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 109,218 (at 11.6.2019)
  • Industries: North Sydney is the third largest business centre in Australia. It contains communications, property and business services, and wholesale and retail industries.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.