Selection of Bills Committee

Report No. 4 of 2020

The Senate agreed to the recommendations of the report on Thursday, 14 May 2020

  1. The committee met in private session on Wednesday, 13 May 2020 at 7.25pm.
  2. The committee recommends that—
    1. contingent upon introduction in the House of Representatives, the provisions of the Migration Amendment (Prohibiting Items in Immigration Detention Facilities) Bill 2020 be referred immediately to the Legal and Constitutional Affairs Legislation Committee for inquiry and report by 5 August 2020 (see appendix 1 for a statement of reasons for referral).
  3. The committee recommends that the following bills not be referred to committees:
    • Aged Care Legislation Amendment (Emergency Leave) Bill 2020
    • Australian Security Intelligence Organisation Amendment Bill 2020
    • Export Control Legislation Amendment (Certification of Narcotic Exports) Bill 2020
    • Health Insurance Amendment (General Practitioners and Quality Assurance) Bill 2020
    • Privacy Amendment (Public Health Contact Information) Bill 2020
    • Telecommunications Legislation Amendment (International Production Orders) Bill 2020
    • Treasury Laws Amendment (More Flexible Superannuation) Bill 2020.
  4. The committee deferred consideration of the following bills to its next meeting:
    • Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Amendment (Jabiru) Bill 2020
    • Aged Care Legislation Amendment (Improved Home Care Payment Administration No. 1) Bill 2020
    • Air Services Amendment Bill 2018
    • Australian Education Legislation Amendment (Prohibiting the Indoctrination of Children) Bill 2020
    • Australian Prudential Regulation Authority Amendment (APRA Industry Funding) Bill 2020
      Authorised Deposit-taking Institutions Supervisory Levy Imposition Amendment Bill 2020
      Authorised Non-operating Holding Companies Supervisory Levy Imposition Amendment Bill 2020
      General Insurance Supervisory Levy Imposition Amendment Bill 2020
      Life Insurance Supervisory Levy Imposition Amendment Bill 2020
      Retirement Savings Account Providers Supervisory Levy Imposition Amendment Bill 2020
      Superannuation Supervisory Levy Imposition Amendment Bill 2020
    • Aviation Legislation Amendment (Liability and Insurance) Bill 2020
    • Banking Amendment (Deposits) Bill 2020
    • Constitution Alteration (Freedom of Expression and Freedom of the Press) 2019
    • Customs Amendment (Safer Cladding) Bill 2019
    • Discrimination Free Schools Bill 2018
    • Fair Work Amendment (COVID-19) Bill 2020
    • Galilee Basin (Coal Prohibition) Bill 2018
    • Governor-General Amendment (Cessation of Allowances in the Public Interest) Bill 2019
    • Great Australian Bight Environment Protection Bill 2019
    • Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Amendment (Coronavirus Economic Response Package) Bill 2020
    • National Skills Commissioner Bill 2020
    • Norfolk Island Amendment (Supreme Court) Bill 2020
    • Payment Times Reporting Bill 2020
    • Payment Times Reporting (Consequential Amendments) Bill 2020
    • Primary Industries (Customs) Charges Amendment (Dairy Cattle Export Charge) Bill 2020
    • Product Stewardship (Oil) Amendment Bill 2020 Excise Tariff Amendment Bill 2020
    • Regional Forest Agreements Legislation (Repeal) Bill 2017
    • Services Australia Governance Amendment Bill 2020
    • Social Services and Other Legislation Amendment (Omnibus) Bill 2020
    • Social Services Legislation Amendment (Better Targeting Student Payments) Bill 2019
    • Social Services Legislation Amendment (Ending the Poverty Trap) Bill 2018
    • Social Services Legislation Amendment (Payment Integrity) Bill 2019
    • Treasury Laws Amendment (2020 Measures No. 2) Bill 2020
    • Veterans’ Affairs Legislation Amendment (Supporting the Wellbeing of Veterans and Their Families) Bill 2020.

(Dean Smith)
14 May 2020

  • Senator Dean Smith (Government Whip, Chair)
  • Senator Perin Davey (The Nationals Whip)
  • Senator Stirling Griff (Centre Alliance Whip)
  • Senator Pauline Hanson (Pauline Hanson's One Nation Whip)
  • Senator Rachel Siewert (Australian Greens Whip)
  • Senator Anne Urquhart (Opposition Whip)
  • Senator Raff Ciccone
  • Senator Katy Gallagher
  • Senator the Hon James McGrath
  • Senator the Hon Anne Ruston

Secretary: Rachel Callinan
6277 3020