Dissenting report

Labor members
The Labor Members of the Joint Standing Committee on Migration, Maria Vamvakinou MP, Shayne Neumann MP, Steve Georganas MP and Senator the Hon Kristina Keneally would like to acknowledge the contributions of all the stakeholders who contributed to this important inquiry.
This inquiry made a number of considered and practical recommendations for the Government aimed at improving the regulation of migration and education agents as well as establishing greater consumer protection for individuals who engage their services. Labor Members support Recommendations 18.
Labor Members dissent from Recommendations 9 and 10.
The existing illegal maritime arrival fast-track assessment process, under the auspices of the Immigration Assessment Authority and the limitation of appeal rights, in Labor’s view does not provide a fair, thorough and robust assessment process for persons seeking asylum.
Labor does not support using the fast-track application process for Electronic Travel Authority (subclass 601) visa holders that have lodged a protection visa application. Labor has had a long standing opposition to the fast-track application process, expressed through the national conference program and in announced policy.
Ms Maria Vamvakinou MPThe Hon Shayne Neumann MP
Deputy ChairMember
Mr Steve Georganas MPSenator the Hon Kristina Keneally

 |  Contents  |