B. List of public hearings and witnesses

B. List of public hearings and witnesses

Wednesday, 3 May 2023

The City of Melbourne Bowls Club, Flagstaff Gardens, Dudley Street, West Melbourne

BRC Capital

  • Mr Paul Docherty, Chair BRC Capital & Co-founder 3DMEDiTech
  • Mr Peter Harris, Chief Information Officer


  • Mr John Levy, Deputy Chief Financial Officer
  • Dr Andrea Douglas, Vice President Strategic Industry Engagement


  • Dr Paul Savage, Deputy and Science Director, Manufacturing
  • Dr Marcus Zipper, Director, Manufacturing

Deakin University

  • Professor Bernard Rolfe, Associate Dean Research, Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment
  • Mr David Reeves, Senior Adviser to the Vice-Chancellor

DMTC Limited

  • Dr Mark Hodge, Chief Executive Officer

Amaero International Limited

  • Mr Barrie Finnin, Chief Technology Officer & General Manager Australian Operations

Minerals Council of Australia

  • Ms Karolina Szukalska, General Manager—Workforce and Innovation
  • Mr Ben Davies, General Manager—Workplace and Safety
  • Mr Demus King, General Manager, Trade—Investment and Investor Relations

Wednesday, 24 May 2023

Parliament House, Committee Room 1R2, Canberra

Smart Energy Council

  • Mr Leigh Heany, Government Relations Manager
  • Mr Wayne Smith, External Affairs Manager

Investment NSW

  • Ms Lisa Emerson, Modern Manufacturing Commissioner

Wednesday, 31 May 2023

Parliament House, Committee Room 1R2, Canberra

Department of Defence

  • Mr Stephen Moore, First Assistant Secretary, Defence Industry Policy
  • Dr Kate Cameron, Assistant Secretary, Defence Domestic Industry Policy
  • Ms Karan McKee, Assistant Secretary, Industry, Naval Shipbuilding and Sustainment Group

BAE Systems Australia

  • Mr Alastair Bacon, Manufacturing Quality Director
  • Mr William Gibaud, Head of Government Relations

Wednesday, 5 July 2023

Tuscan Room, Sydney Masonic Centre (SMC), Sydney


  • Mr Andrew Price, President, Operations
  • Mr Brett Sandercock, Chief Financial Officer
  • Ms Vered Keisar, Chief People Officer


  • Mr William Downie, Executive Director, Head of Supply and Manufacturing
  • Ms Penny George, Director of Corporate Affairs

Pathology Technology Australia

  • Mr Dean Whiting, Chief Executive Officer
  • Mr Justin Meredith, Member Manager
  • Dr Brad Walsh, Member

The Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union

  • Dr Katie Hepworth, Political and Strategic Advisor

Australian Steel Institute

  • Mr Mark Cain, Chief Executive
  • Mr David Varcoe, State Manager NSW/ACT / National Manufacturing Advisor

SunDrive Solar

  • Mr Vince Allen, Chief Executive Officer

Sun Cable

  • Mr Andrew Treble, Head of Government Liaison
  • Mr David Griffin, Chief Executive Officer

Tuesday, 25 July 2023

Royal on the Park Hotel & Suites, Dehavilland Room, 152 Alice Street, Brisbane

Gilmour Space

  • Mr Adam Gilmour, Chief Executive Officer

Australian Cobotics Centre

  • Dr Jonathan Roberts, Director
  • Mrs Chris Bridges-Taylor, Director B&R Enclosures (ACC Industry Partner)
  • Dr Melinda Laundon, Research Fellow
  • Dr Jared Donovan, Chief Investigator

Advanced Robotics for Manufacturing Hub

  • Associate Professor Cori Stewart, Chief Executive Officer
  • Mr Samuel Jesuadian, Chief Operating Officer


  • Mr Michael Junger, Senior Vice President of Advanced Technology

Australian Academy of Health and Medical Science

  • Professor Andrew Cuthbertson, Fellow


  • Mr Sylvain Vigneault, Country Manager Australia
  • Mr Robert Elliot, Head of Operations, Australian & New Zealand
  • Mrs Sandra Stepherson, Head of Regional Quality Operations—JANZ