Papers on Parliament no. 68

December 2017

© Commonwealth of Australia 2017
ISSN 1031–976X (online ISSN 2206–3579)



Zareh Ghazarian is a lecturer in politics and international relations in the School of Social Sciences at Monash University. He was a Research Fellow at the Australian Prime Ministers Centre at the Museum of Australian Democracy in 2016 and is the author of The Making of a Party System: Minor Parties in the Australian Senate (2015).

David Fricker is Director-General of the National Archives of Australia. He was elected President of the Forum of National Archivists in 2013, appointed President of the International Council on Archives in 2014 and Vice-President of the UNESCO Memory of the World International Advisory Committee in 2015

Russell Taylor AM is an Aboriginal Australian with extensive senior executive experience in the Australian Public Service. He recently completed an eight-year appointment as Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies, during which time he was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia. Mr Taylor describes himself as a proud Kamilaroi man.

Denis Strangman AM was on the staff of Senator Vince Gair, the Leader of the Australian Democratic Labor Party (DLP). He experienced firsthand the DLP’s ‘no’ campaign against the ‘nexus’ question, the second and often forgotten proposal put to the people in the 1967 referendum.

Anthony Bergin is a Senior Research Fellow at the National Security College at the Australian National University (ANU) and a senior analyst at the Australian Strategic Policy Institute, where he previously served as the Deputy Director.

Yee-Fui Ng is a Senior Lecturer in Law at Monash University. Her research focuses on public law and politics, particularly the influences on the contemporary executive. Dr Ng’s book, Ministerial Advisers in Australia: The Modern Legal Context (2016) was a finalist for the Holt Prize.

Ian McAllister is Distinguished Professor of Political Science at the Australian National University. Since 1987, he has been Director of the Australian Election Study, a large national post-election survey of political attitudes and behaviour. His recent books include The Australian Voter (2012) and Political Parties and Democratic Linkage (2011).

Sarah Cameron is the Electoral Integrity Project Manager and Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Sydney. She researches elections and political behaviour in cross-national comparison, and is the co-author of Trends in Australian Political Opinion: Results from the Australian Election Study, 1987–2010 (2016). She completed her PhD at ANU, and has held a Visiting Fellowship at Harvard University