Economics Committee to scrutinise the four major banks

Issue date: Monday, 19 August 2019

 House of Representatives media release header

Australia’s four major banks will appear before the House of Representatives Standing Committee on Economics at public hearings in Canberra on 8 and 15 November 2019.

The Chair of the committee, Mr Tim Wilson MP, stated that ‘these hearings are an important mechanism for the Parliament to publicly scrutinise and hold Australia’s four major banks to account.’

Mr Wilson said ‘the committee’s scrutiny will include examining the four major banks’ progress in implementing the recommendations of the Royal Commission into Misconduct in the Banking, Superannuation and Financial Services Industry.’

‘Given the widespread misconduct across the financial services sector identified by the Hayne Royal Commission, it is important that financial institutions are held accountable and to ensure that they make the crucial improvements needed to start restoring trust in our financial institutions,’ said Mr Wilson.

Beyond actions taken by the sector, Treasurer Frydenberg released a royal commission implementation road map today, which outlines how the Morrison Government will move on all recommendations requiring legislation by the end of 2020 – with one-third planned to be finalised this year.

In a future series of hearings the committee will extend its scrutiny beyond the four major banks to smaller banks and the insurance, superannuation and financial advice sectors.

Public hearing details

Date: Friday, 8 November 2019
Time: 9.15am to 4.15pm
Location: Committee Room 2R1, Parliament House, Canberra

9.15am–12.15pm: Westpac
1.15pm–4.15pm: Commonwealth Bank of Australia

Date: Friday, 15 November 2019
Time: 9.15am to 4.15pm
Location: Main Committee Room, Parliament House, Canberra

9.15am–12.15pm: National Australia Bank
1.15pm–4.15pm: Australian and New Zealand Banking Group

The hearings will be broadcast live at

Media inquiries
Mr Tim Wilson MP, Chair
Electorate: 03 9557 4644
Parliament: 02 6277 2392

For background information
Committee Secretariat
02 6277 4587

House of Representatives media release header


We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.